Posted in close to heart

>Someday…

>

It was just like any other day when I woke. But when i stepped out that morning and started for work, something i looked forward for everyday, I knew something was different.There was something about the way things looked different. Thats when I saw him. At first I couldn’t believe my eyes, I was sure my eyes were just behaving a little wierd because it was weary from last night. Then I saw him again, walking straight towards me. I stopped.I wasn’t sure if he saw me or even noticed. He came closer and walked right past me. I had just about finished convincing myself that what happened was for the best when I heard my name. I turned to find him right behind me.

Am not sure how long we stood like that, words unspoken,many a thought exchanged.

“Coffee?Oh I forgot,tea right?”

“Is that an invitation?”, I asked.

“No, an order.”

He always had the power to read me. He had it from the very first time we met, in college.Way back then I used to love it when he took al the decisions for me. I never regretted any of his decisions and that was why I was here,now.

We walked into the cafe around the corner just like old times when we used to catch up on everything over cups of coffee. We talked a lot, about our friends, about our college and about everything except us. We decided to take the day off. Neither of us knew where to go or what to do but both were sure we wanted to be together for as short as a day atleast. It was cliched but we decided to walk in the park.

It was about our jobs at first and then about the placement season in our college during our final year. Slowly we took smaller steps and our conversations stopped for awhile. He then asked me how I was, whether I was happy. It was one question I always feared he wold ask and I was not yet prepared to answer it. He demanded an answer. It was one time I wish he would read my mind and he did.

“I shouldn’t have forced you into something you never wanted.But at that time I just did what I thought I should have done”, he said.

The only thing I could say was “I hope atleast you are happy.”

“I hope someday you forgive me for the decision I made for you. I always wanted whats best for you.”

“I have to leave. I have work to do”,was all I could manage to say.

It had always been a kind of ritual to hug him once before I left for anyplace. But this was the first time I found it difficult to do it. I still managed to give him a hug and a peck on his cheek. That was when I realised I had lost him forever, I missed everything we used to do together. And then I traced my steps back. I walked back fast, turning around just in time to see him sit down and drown his face in his hands. A part of me wanted to go back but a part of me knew it was too late and both of us had began to move on in life. It was just on days like these, which were a near never, that we came across each other and tried to remember all those things we were trying to forget.

It was then that I wished someday like that day never happened again or maybe someday we would all meet again..

Someday…….

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

4 thoughts on “>Someday…

  1. >Thank you so much anonymous. Its a pleasure to know that my writing is appreciated. Thanks Mary and Appu il improve…keep reading…

Leave a Reply

