Posted in close to heart, fiction

>I do…

>

When he called that morning, I didnt hear the usual excitement!Well i had missed that for quite a few days..I thought it was job tension and the usual..But somehow that morning was different.. He said he will meet me at our favourite cafe.. I was just gettting ready when he called again to tel me to come to a nearby park.. I was kinda suprised coz he always told me that parks were for people who either had something to talk seriously or people who came to “do something!”
He was my best friend..Well though he would always remain my best friend..at some point of time we decided to take it to the next level..We became friends through mutual friends..same college, not the same intrests though..We were worlds apart in everythin we thought and did! But like they say “Opposites poles attract.” Our friends thought we were a crazy couple. Hardly together and when we were together we were always getting on each others backs! The fights used to get bad sometimes but in the end they always bought us closer… College ended but we were still together..not physically coz both of us were placed in different cities..miles apart! It was great..the joy and pangs of long diatance romance, the miss you’s..the surprise visits and all that…and then we moved into one city..everything was perfect.
I reached the park on time but he wasn’t there. I waited, looking around at the kids playing with their dads, lazy couples..It was an eyeful..Then he came..Something in his eyes told me i wasn’t expecting wat was coming.. He sat down and started out formally..That scared me.. I asked him what was wrong and he told me to listen carefully..
I have always felt great about us..I have always been happy with you but there are other issues we have to consider, other people we have to look at when we decide about our future. Whatever i do will be for our good..no your good. i cant beat around the bush with u so… I am getting married. I have to..and its not you that i can spend the rest of my life with..I have to do this..I know how difficult this is..I have been wondering how to tell you this but i jus didnt know how.”‘
It was short but i knew how much pain he had wen he told me that. The days that followed were blurred.. I dont even remember or i guess i might have forced myself to forget coz i couldnt afford to torture myself with those memories. I obviously got the invite for his wedding. Much to the surprise of my friends I decided to go for it..After all it was my best friend’s wedding and I had to be there for him..
The place were the wedding was taking place was all decked up. It was simply beautiful.. I made sure i reached there only that morning to avoid any meeting with him!Our friends were all there and they all were quite amazed but happy to see me.. I was just letting myself flow with what was happening when a small girl tugged at me and told me that her uncle wants to see me.. I was shocked until I realised it was his niece! I went upto him and he looked charming like he always did..We didnt say anything, kept looking at each other,guess we were both remembering things we had to forget in a few minutes…Finally he spoke,
” I am getting married but i dont feel nice at all..this is not what i wanted and this is not what i dreamt of..I love you and wll always love you..You will always be my most special girl and I want you to have no doubt on that. I hope u forgive me for what am doing someday.”
In that minute I saw all the love he had for me in his eyes and I knew he was doing it for us..I told him that allthe people that we loved would make sure that they prayed for us to be happy coz they all know how big a sacrifice we were doing..I told him I loved him too and that he would always be my best man..and above all my best friend..
We both knew we meant every word we spoke that day… We hugged for one last time and off he went..
The ceremonies went on as usual..I had always wanted to witness a full wedding but I never wanted it to be his wedding where i would be a mere spectator..None the less..The priest finally asked the groom whether he was willing….?
And my best friend looked at me one last time and said, ‘I do.”
Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

9 thoughts on “>I do…

  1. >you surprise me everytime…all your stories( i choose to call them stories because its to painful to be real) are simply amazing..well written..I'd love to know what the inspirstion behind these would be..Write more and publish em sooner or later..I love your style..

Leave a Reply

