Posted in close to heart

>One step closer

>

“No way” that was my first reaction when the gals told me to take advent..” No non veg madz” wat they all smiled and told me in unison!Wel i as laughing, thinkong how little they knew me! Didnt they know that I could never do it!No non veg is okie! NO CHICKEN!!yikes that thought was defiitely scary!I have even had nightmares in which they banned chciken in India coz of bird flu! Then again the girls were sureI would not pass even a week…
Thats wen my hero dropped by.Iasked him casually if he was fasting and he very roughly said NO!He said “you are supposed to give up things that you really like or enjoy for 25 days and I definitely cant do it coz thats what i love so much.” Thats when I realised that people do this for the ones they love so that they get all the prosperity and happiness.Its my chance of doing something to make people i love really happy..And above all itsonechance that i am getting to adopt his culture, his religion and his traditions. So what if he wasn’t doing it, I could always do it for him!
December 1st dawned and I woke up to a promise I made to myself, “NO NON VEG, NO SWEETS OF ANY KIND FOR 25 DAYS TILL X’MAS.”I wasnt sure myself if I could keep up the promise but what’s the harmin trying!
It certainly was difficult the first few days.Suddenly everyone seemed to be celebrating birthdays and feats and job treats! All that in these 25 days!!What a timing was all i could say.
It was quite frustrating sometimes and thats when I began to pray..My hero had once mentioned that whatever I prayed for during advent would be granted or atleast wil be one step closer to being granted.. I needed a miracle in my life and if all this helped I was definitely willing to give it my best..
Praying really helped..I learnt to control my temptations,I learnt tobe patient and I learnt to control my temper!My hero wil just not agree to this, but i hope he does atleast in his heart..I still pray everyday and though every morning I wake up to new challenges, somehow I am enjoying not having the things that I really love..In the end i guess it all makes sense because I can see the smile on his face and all the love he has for me coz i guess somewhere he knows am trying my best!
Above all I can see the happiness in my gals faces when they know I completed Advent succesfully breaking no promises!!
Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

