Posted in fiction

>Valentine..

>Valentine’s Day had never made sense to me. It still doesn’t. People took something wonderful and noble and twisted it into something capable of causing despair, sorrow, and sadness. Atleast thats the way I saw it every year..Some are showered with cards and gifts and some unlucky ones get to watch the others read their cards with joy! That was until I heard her story…
She worked in the same office as I did. I never noticed her though..But I do remember that on some rare days she would be all dressed up and smiling. I ran into her one day just outside my cousin’s house. She looked kind of surprised to se me though she did recognize me! We jus exchanged greetings and went our own ways. While talking to my cousin I casually asked her if she knew the woman and she said “of course I do..Why she lives in the next house! Why do u ask?” I then told her she worked in my office and that she was someone who none of us knew anything much about. My cousin then told me her story..
“She is from a well known family and she was the opposite of what she is now.She was entertainment personified, always with a smile. She was the most popular girl in school and unlike the usual snobbish- popular types she always lend a helping hand to anyone who needed it. When she graduated out of college, everyone who knew her knew that she would go a long way..But I guess sometimes even gods can become jealous.
She met him while she was working as an intern at her first job. He was her immediate boss and they clicked instantaneously. It was like they were perfect for each other. He was everything that complimented her. Anything that she ever lacked, he completed it. She used to complain to him saying everyone in their office had began to call her Valentine coz to them she was the perfect take- home- to mom kind of gal because she was so affectionate and loving.They went around for a whole five years and loved each other more every day and lived every moment of their lives to the fullest.
When they finally decided to get married, all of their friends and families were elated .However his parents were the only people who were not entirely happy.To that she decided to talk to them. He said it was okay and she didn’t have to go through all that trouble and that they will surely come around by the time of their wedding. The next thing we all knew was that his parents sure had come around just like he said. They finally got married. A wedding surely made in heaven!
A month after their wedding, the entire neighbourhood woke up to the sound of her wails. As we reached her home, we realized with grief that he had died a sudden death. I didn’t have the courage to see her and I didn’t. I did not even go for the funeral. After a few days I decided to meet her. I went up to her house and knocked. She came out looking like she had become old in just a matter of days. It was when we started talking that she told me something that made me realize why everyone had so fondly called her valentine!
When his parents had shown a disapproval she had approached them without his knowledge and much to her shock and grief they very sadly told her that their son had not much time because he was dying a slow death that even he didn’t know of. They told her everything they knew about the disease. She didn’t even think for a second before she nodded her head and said I still love him and I will marry him and stay with him till god decides that his time is up. When his parents realized that she was truly a god sent they agreed for the wedding. She knew he did not have time and still married him, sacrificing her whole life. Never let anyone know that he had such a problem, made sure that he was a happy man every single day of his life.”
I cried the entire way back home and I felt a wave of emotions through me that day. I then realized the amount of joy that she must have got by making sure he died a happy man. I still see her at the office and I am trying to et to know her more. The more I know her the more I am beginning to understand the true meaning of Valentine.
Every year the cards come out. Every year millions of kids are obligated to purchase them. Every year the kids put names on cards and envelopes. Every year the kids wait. Every year the kids count. Every year it’s all about the numbers. Every year, in every classroom around the nation, there are going to be a few kids that will not get very many. Every year, there will be kids that cannot give as many. Every year. Every year. Every year. But, it’s not just the kids; kids grow. Then the Valentine gifts get more expensive, or so it seems. But in truth, the thing that everyone wants to receive the most, the most expensive thing a person can give – is not given on that day, Valentine’s Day. It will come at another time, perhaps – perhaps in our lust and toss society many will never receive it.Valentine’s Day is not meant to be about asking somebody to be your valentine. I know this to be a fact. I know who Valentine was. I know what Valentine’s love meant to the one that she loved. Asking somebody to be your Valentine is asking too much of a person.This year, stay away from the stores. Stay away from the cards. Stay away from the flowers. Stay away from the tripe that has infested this wonderful day.This year, don’t ask somebody if they will be your Valentine. This year, ask if you can be somebody’s Valentine.

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “>Valentine..

Leave a Reply

