Posted in close to heart

>The distance from you to me

>”And ever has it been known that love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.” – Khalil Gibran

When we start any relationship,no matter how much caution we take,no one prepares themselves or their love for a long distant romance. Every other what ifs are answered in one way of the other or prepared in advance. What if parents find out?what if the phone is not there?what if parents do not agree etc etc. But I know very few people who actually sit and talk about what they would do if they had to move to two different places and we were definitely not one of them. I never thought it would be so difficult especially when the cities were jus a night’s travel apart. But then somehow it dawned on me that its not the distance actually. There are a lot more things..

One was the city I grew up in,my school,my college,my friends and above all my home.A city that I am so fond of that every other city was incomparable. I had done everything and anything in that city. And then I fell in love with it even more…coz as my hero says we spent close to two and a half years there..discovering ourselves,falling in love,going on short trips,fighting,crying and what not.. Every place every signal reminded us of each other. Every coffee joint, every restaurant every mall reminded us of our time there. And then I had to leave…

The other was the city which gave me love. It gave me a fresh new outlook to life,it helped me grow as a person.Now I was in love with another city. It was not the city I loved,it was the memories I had here that I was in love with. THe roads, certain joints, signals n malls reminded me of our time together. Everytime I walk on the roads here and see people holding hands and walk I envy them coz its what I missed.
Seeing people together used to bug me so much that I stopped going out for shopping or anything. Home-office-home became my pattern of living here. Till my hero called up one day and asked me to get out and take a walk along all those areas that we went together and with great reluctance I agreed. He then told me everytime I walked into a place we had been together,to close my eyes and think of all the wonderful times we spent there. I did and i realised I felt really good. It was like for those few seconds that I relived he was right next to me…

Long Distance Love can be really difficult but I guess I was among the lucky ones who got to be in the city that we were once together in. Not many people are as lucky. I learnt a lot of things in these two months, I started realising the value of time, the value of those people who you always took for granted. I still feel bad for the times I said No to people when they asked me to meet them and above all it taught me that love is not about how much time u spend together,an hour or 10 days its about how many memories u make coz in the end time will befriend you and memories will stay forever.

In the words of my hero,”When the flame that lights up the candle is not there, the candle is no fun to look at.”

P.S- I dont know how many of u will understand this but for those who don’t what he meant is, both the cities don’t look appealing coz we are not there to illuminate it with our presence….

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

5 thoughts on “>The distance from you to me

  1. >But let there be spaces in your togetherness and let the winds of the heavens dance between you. Love one another but make not a bond of love: let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls…god bless mol 🙂

  2. >I only stopped by because you said you loved to write. You have a nice blog, I enjoyed browsing. Very nice. I write a bit myself but I write from the other end of life. Best wishes to you.

Leave a Reply

