Posted in close to heart

>Weekend Getaway: On home away from home

>Weekends are something almost everyone waits for. I do, every week.Especially if am going home.

“Home: a place where you are just as comfortable and content as if you were home.”

The first time I went to this getaway was a year back. To me in the beginning, it was someone else’s house(home) and it was a nice cozy place,a regular house beside a canal. It was in Kerala and I remember the first morning I reached, I slept like a log. I am a poor sleeper. I cannot sleep in an alien place, but there I slept. I still sleep as comfortably or maybe more comfortably as the first time I slept. It rained that night and even today I look forward to the rain each time I visit.

I became a frequent visitor. It became my secret hideout, my weekend getaway. I go there when I need a break from the noise and pollution of the city i live in, when I am angry and need to vent, when a happy and need to share it, when I am sad and need to relax and think. Its a place I could call home but cant coz its someone else’s home. But for me its a home away from home.

Everyone goes for vacations and dreamland destinations in search of a place to relax and enjoy. Little do people realise that joy,relaxation does not come if you travel to fairytale locations and exotic spas. It comes in places where you feel at peace. I found my hideaway in a town of Kerala which was nowhere in my wishlist of places to go. I found it in someone’s house where I could be what I wanted to be, do what I wanted to do, make noise, laugh,cry and eat whatever I Loved! And thats where I found true bliss and joy.

THe people whose house(home) I am talking about does not even know the comfort they give me by being there when I need people the most. They listen to whatever I need to say, the talk to me with no qualms, they hear me sing loudly and most of all tolerate everything I do.

Why on earth would I want another weekend getaway when I have all its luxuries and much more in a place I least expected. All i need to do when am emotional (due to whatever reason: happiness, sadness, anger, joy, excitement) is close my eyes and visualise the place once and I find myself again.

– Home away from home
Until next time: I cant wait to go back!



Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “>Weekend Getaway: On home away from home

  1. Your home away from home is waiting to get noise polluted. The great time this home ever had was only on your visits. Feeling bad to leave this house leaving all those good memories behind. But together we will make our new house a home. So what are you waiting for. Reach me soon..

    with love
    your “home away home”

Leave a Reply

