Posted in m@dness

Freedom of Choice- On Inter caste/religious marriage

I was browsing the net for some info on the history of inter cast marriages when I found some very interesting facts.

A few years back, there was a news paper article where Supreme court asked the law and order system in the country to take a strict stand against those harrassing couples who indulged in inter-caste or inter-religion marriages. (yes they used the same words)

Irrespective of whether this will actually be effected remains to be seen, I think it is a very significant view point from the judicial system of world’s largest democracy.

I believe marriage is between two human beings – Not between two Hindus, or two Muslims or two christians.
Another strong belief I have is that marriage should be a matter of choice for each individual ( Probably a belief that became strong after my parents were open enough to allow me to do so)
One should choose your life partner – in the basic meaning of that word, you are selecting who will be partnering with you for the rest of your life.
So it is all the more important you should make the right choice – or at least a choice that you won;t regret later.
It is not very easy to be sure always- though.

Having said this, whether an individual is  Hindu or Muslim or Christian or xyz, was NOT his/her choice!
While taking birth, he/she was not given the freedom to choose the religion.
Okay,- if that is decided by who the parents are, then the child was not given a freedom to choose his/her parents!!
(Strangely, parents often get to choose children – though not fully legally. Let us leave that part….)
And the religion is imposed or cultivated on a person in the child hood. While he grows up.
Most often than not, a fear or aversion or at least misinformation about other religions also grows along with the growth.

After growing up, if one find another individual who seems to be the ideal life partner for him/her, why should the religion or caste ( which any way was not my choice!) should be a hindrance?

More than all these, I am more astonished by those religious fanatics who go to extreme measures on the couple who made such a choice!
It was not long ago we read about a ‘higher caste’ family destroying the entire family of a boy who chose their daughter as life partner.
It was even more recent past, where ‘religious’ family attacked a couple for marrying inter-caste!

Is this ‘being religious’ for them?
It would really of interest for me to know which religion asks the followers to attack or punish such individuals who made their choice in life!!!

If any of them does,  my next question to them would be is it a ‘religion’ or some thing else??

P.S- What i found really funny is that most inter religion marriages happen between Indian born hindus and pakistani born muslims!! Kudos to them!

Talk about religious drama!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

4 thoughts on “Freedom of Choice- On Inter caste/religious marriage

Leave a Reply

