Posted in m@dness

Where do I know you from??

It is sooooooo irritating when there is this song but you cant get it out into words, that movie’s name you cant remember  and when you know you know someone but you can’t for the life of you think of where from?  I reckon this awkward moment can manifest itself in several ways:

there’s the ‘we just walked past each other and neither of us worked out who each other was until it was too late’ moment.  you know the one, where you catch the eye of someone you know, but you don’t recognise them in the context.  you know, an old work colleague who you see in the shops, one of your school teachers who you see at the pub, the friend of an ex partner …?

then there’s the ‘only one of us actually knows what is happening here’.  Invariably, in this case, you are the one who has no idea.  so a person catches your eye, calls your name to stop you so they can have a conversation like, ‘wow, I haven’t seen you in ages.  what are you doing with yourself these days?  how’s the new place going?  and has your sister gotten over her cold yet?’ and you walk away having said something like ‘yeah wow, great to see you mate/buddy/champ’ and still have no idea who they are or where you knew them from.  (clearly they knew all about your life though!)

then there’s the ‘neither of us recognised each other until it was ALMOST too late’.  this one can be particularly awkward.  you know, you walk past a person, you catch each others eye but neither of you can place the other, until AS YOU’RE PASSING, the other person goes ‘hey! how are you?’ and clearly they’ve worked it out.  the problem is, they’re doing their darnedest to make it look like they didn’t see you until the last minute (which is why they didn’t respond to seeing you straight away, apparently), and you’ve already walked past them (by now) and the people who were walking in the same direction as you are getting annoyed cos you’ve just stopped in the way to have a conversation.  so the whole thing ends with a ‘I’m good – I’ll catch you later, I’ve got to keep moving’.

the worst thing is when any of these scenarios happen and then, seconds after you’ve both walked on, you realise that it was actually some you really would like to see again and you wish you’d recognised them earlier!

Until next time: Watch while you walk 🙂

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

