Posted in m@dness

Standing tall

There are many times in our lives when certain incidents bring forth what we stand up for and what we will make adjustments towards. These may later become distant memories like long lost cousins but the lesson they teach one remains etched forever.

Adversity introduces a man to himself. Tells him about who he is …talks to him…argues with him…shows him the way…adversity is a friend in disguise…

What happened a few days back is something that I will remember for the rest of my life…a small incident really…all that was expected of me was my taking a stand. Which sub-consciously I took. Had I not I would have probably never been able to look myself in the eye.

We make certain choices in life and these are a reflection of our character, our individuality. A personality that we build on the foundations of principles, experiences and our beliefs.These are all heavy words, foundations, experiences,beliefs, principles. In the world that I live in I see a lot of it and therefore I feel that the worlds outside mine too have enough of it. But what happens when I travel to these worlds?When I walk into another world? I get a rude shock. the qualities that I had taken for granted, the inconsequential ones like trust, courage, morality, politeness, chivalry are, well, trivial to those worlds which I don’t inhabit.

It is a situation of crisis in my life because I have moved out of my comfortable sphere and now I have to live in those worlds which I had feared most; where the commoners get mauled by the powerful ones; where your dignity gets molested and your  being is murdered; where the can haves rob you of your freedom and put you up for sale. I do not have a choice. The boundaries are expanding faster then I can fathom, the realms encompassing more then I can comprehend…..the walls of care and love are dissolving to accommodate greed, malice and depravity.

We live rather sheltered lives during our childhood.where we are taken care of, nurtured, mentored and fostered into loving and lovable people. In the guardianship of our families and friends, the innocence of our hearts and the immaturity of our thoughts are cosseted and moulded towards the unconscious corners of our minds so we can draw upon them in times when the loved ones are not aournd.

Like fools, we walk with our hearts in our hands and our heads in the clouds. And we meet people and , very naively we place our hearts before the world. The world which has no principles and won’t let you have any. And so it hates you and your lofty ideals and claws at your heart to wound you like it is mutilated. You try to draw back your hand and it tickles you into submission. It does not slacken its grip even if it is your heart that is bleeding.

There is only one way that I know of how to live in this world of sub-human conditions. You choose..you choose what will you compromise on. The luxuries or the principles; the comfort or the satisfaction; the joy or the euphoria; the world without or the world within.

And then you have to walk away and never look back. And then you walk away with the knowledge that you did what was right according to you and you have to live with it. You either die on your knees or you die on your feet. You walk through life with your head bowed low, your existence apologetic or you glide through life with your head held high and you meet the gaze of this world with an equally hard stare; for you….YOU..stood up for yourself and did what was right. You have nothing to fear….nothing to be ashamed about…

For some of us, its not even a matter of choice.

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “Standing tall

  1. this is the first post i read this morning.. and i read it about more than 4 times… i totally loved the way you wrote it.. perfect language, perfect flow of emotion actually this post is more than perfect..

    when i was reading this.. it reminded me Grey-s Anatomy… usually the episode starts with something similar that you have written.. i mean the way you have written.. as i read it I actually felt that the protagonist of the series was narrating this..

    You have written exactly how it happens in this sub-human world.. it is just wonderful mads 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

