Posted in m@dness

RESOLUTION 2012

Read that as resolutions that were dusted under the proverbial carpet once the New Year shrugged off the ‘new’ tag. Ah yes, readers it is that time of the year when we are expected to roll out the holiday cheer, be high on the spirit of the season and make our list of resolutions for the NEXT New year to be. And for some others like me, it’s also time to rummage through my memory and see which of last year’s unfulfilled resolutions can be recycled. Ok, I jest. I’ll have to recycle most of them. Maybe, all! Sigh!

So there was the one of majorly cutting down on Noodles- read that as Maggie , Top Ramen and now Yippee. Barring a short period a few months back, when I was shut out, that one has been thoroughly unsuccessful. And judging by the increase in the number of stories I’ve come to hear about people using the water from the noodles to use as gum, I’ve come to the conclusion that maybe I should give another go at it this year. And if not, well there’s always 2013.
Moving on, there was the ‘I will organize my wardrobe and throw out things that I have not used in more than two months’ resolution. Well, moving cities certainly helped in getting that one on track. But since June 2011, lets just say my dad is not entirely wrong when he calls it the ‘Black hole aka the bottomless wardrobe where one could get lost in’! So anyway, I’m still on the fence about recycling this one because I don’t see the point of wasting my time and energy scrawling it down on my list when I have no intentions of keeping it!
Onto the ‘I will not tolerate nonsense or idiots gladly’ resolution. This one, I’ve followed. But, only to a certain extent. Of course, I can work on that this year! Verdict- Recycle. No h0nestly, there are tooo many idiots and too much of nonsense to go around. SO this one has to be recycled.
Oh and of course amongst the many inane one’s that I do not care to mention there was the one of ‘Do not run away from weddings and other social gatherings resolution.  I have started attending weddings and functions much to the amusement of my family who used to think I have some family function phobia.So there’s at least one that I can cross off the list with a super wide smile. And I have photographs and then some more to prove it.
So as I sit and debate on the ones that I’m not sure should make it to the 2012 resolution list and the new ones that have inevitably sprung up in my mind,
  • Start working out and get super serious about losing weight
  • Stick to ethnic wear- churidars, kurtis and sarees(ONLY special occasions)
  • catch up and maintain contact with ol friends
  • SAVE MONEY
  • Maintain an accounts book
  • and the cliched STICK TO THE RESOLUTIONS
 but then I pause and wonder whether I should just take Calvin’s advice.
Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

3 thoughts on “RESOLUTION 2012

Leave a Reply

