Posted in close to heart, m@dness

OST’s of my Life

‘Music is indeed the soundtrack of our lives’.

We all have music in us, with us, just like in the movies. Our life has background scores and songs during happy times and sad times. Last night I was creating a playlist of my favourite songs and after I was done with it, I named it OST(Original Sound Track) of my life.

The songs I have listed below have a strong connection with my life and moments I have had and cherished. I know someday, when I am old, whenever I hear these songs, I will smile and go back to the memories…..

Ae hairathe ashiqui– Guru

There is a music that each couple hears. They walk hand in hand, standing close to each other in a queue at a theater or a cafe,  during bike rides or loooong drives, and there is always a song that plays between them: The stirring chords of romance’s first bloom, the stately airs that whisper between a couple long in love. You can see it in the way they look at each other… you can almost hear it. Almost, but not quite, because the music belongs to them and all you can have of it is an echo that rises up from the murmur and shuffle of your own experience and memories.

Have I told u lately that I love you: Rod Stewart

I love this song because one Valentine’s Day when everyone I knew was getting gifts and cards and i was feeling totally lost and sad, my dad gave me 100 Rs and told me to get whatever I wanted. He said Valentine’s day is for people to celebrate love and it need not be just Love Love. He said dad and I could celebrate it too coz we love each other soo much. So I rushed to the music store nearby and bought this cassette. I still remember dad and I listening to it.

I dont wanna miss a thing: Aerosmith

I am a hopeless romantic. I find romance in the silliest of things and so everytime I listen to this song I wish the guy I get married to, sings it to me! Haa and this was one of the first english songs my brother made me listen to 🙂

Jungle jungle baat chali– Jungle book

Who doesn’t know this song!!! I used to run around my house in chaddis singing this song and making people at home wild:) and while I was in college, I had this as my alarm tone and haa that itself has soooo many stories and thats another post.

Duck tales

Again my chaddi buddies and me gathering in front of a television set on sunday mornings to see duck tales and then imitate huey, duey and louie 🙂

Kahin Aag lage– Taal

People who know me would say I am damn scared to perform in front of a gathering,be it singing or dancing. Well in class 8, I was forced to dance in a group and this song was my first  dance performance on stage. We did get a 3rd place 🙂 but yes I almossst broke my leg practicing for this. However this song brings back a lot of memories and somehow when I feel low and weak I can just listen to this song and feel confidant all over again.

Etho varmukilin– Pookalam Varavayi

For those who do not know, yes I have appeared in a movie for precisely 4 seconds when I was 4 yrs old. I also love this song for two other reasons. One because I have mesmerized quite a number of people by singing this song and tw because neha from outcast vocals has done such a beautiful version of it. Haaaa I dream of me becoming an actress everytime I listen to it. It kinda gives me my 2 minute feeling of being famous.

Parayathe ariyahteUdayananu Tharam

While  I was doing my graduation, I was forced to share a room with a bhutani, who is now my BESTEST friend and poor thing I used to sing this song and listen to it over n over again and she actually learned it and sang it for me the night before I left college! That song has something in it that keeps u hooked to it. NOT MOHANLAL please!!!!

Only HopeMandy Moore

A prayer song I sing when i know god is listening.

Hava havaiMr. India

AAahhhhh anytime I listen to it and I can dance. No seriously. Iwas down on the bed for about 2 months coz I broke my back and my dear roomie played it and I got up to dance! From then on its been my feel good song. Forever on my phone!

Kabhi Kabhi– A version that I n ONLY I have…I found it on a friend’s phone and transfered it to my mobile and deleted it from his phone. That’s how possessive I got over that song! I still have it on my phone and will never ever transfer it to anybody!!!!!

Masti ki Paatshala: Rang de Basanti

There used to be a time in my life about 6 years ago, when i was having a two month vacation from college. Budhu( my bhutani budhu) was with me during those two months and we had a ball. Rang De basanti released around that time and we had a similar gang then; 4 guys, 1 firang and 2 girls. We had a bike and cars and we used to literally do nothing. Go out on drives, movies, etc were all that we did. But that was the best time we ever had in a loooon looong time. This song was our ringtones, caller tunes etc and used to be played in our car over n over again. Even this moment, if anybody plays the song, I get goosebumps thinking of the way we were n the time we simply would love to go back to.

Underneath Your Clothes– Shakira

For being the song I listen to when I wrote oh so many posts….Inspiration!

The list is long and faaaaaar from compiled, but this blog marks the start of a trip to the past. After all, its what I heard long ago that influences what I hear today. 🙂
And if this inspires you to make your own list, feel free to drop a note! I would love to discover that I’m not the only person who still gets up and starts dancing when I hear Hawa Hawai!
So much so, that I think having an annoying song continuously playing in my head somedays is preferable to moving through life without having a rhythm to walk to…
Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

