Posted in m@dness

Moment to Listen

It’s all in the moments, don’t you think? Those vulnerable moments when consciously or unconsciously we decide to open ourselves up. We decide to show how insane we are, how sensitive we can get and what wild desires we carefully burry in our hearts.

That moment is without doubt a very critical moment in any relationship…when tears emerge, wounds are cut open, and hands tremble (not to mention that lump in the throat!). Most of us are wise enough to not show the scars to everyone. N then comes along one special person to whom we hide nothing n we feel comfortable opening up ourselves to them.

“We choose you because we think you are special. We choose you because we think you will kiss the pain away. We choose you because we think you are capable of hiding our sins and appreciate us for who we truly are.”

I have been on both ends of the spectrum—being the quiet listener and the one with the lump in the throat.

The road parts in two opposite directions once the lump is subsided. You either destroy the little of a relationship you had with the talker or you make it stronger. I suppose it all comes down to listening. If a person listens he cares, if he cares he will definitely stick around. If someone can’t listen to you, no matter what he claims he could do, chances are it’s not worth it, don’t you think?

I want to listen. I try to listen. I have learned that there are times when I need to shut up and just listen—listen and not interrupt. Believe me, you won’t be able to connect with someone (even if you spend day and night with them) the way you do in that one moment of confession, one moment with trembling hands and wet eyes—in that one moment of trust.

And it is almost always about that ONE moment… if it passes, it would not come back. If you are distracted, you wouldn’t hear it again. Sometimes, just missing that one moment keeps us at a distance from the person we love for the rest of our lives.

Are you listening?

P.S- I sometimes really believe that god surely gave us two ears and one mouth so that we listen more and talk less. what do u think?

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

