Posted in fiction

The Newcomer

His brows were knitted. He was worried. He couldn’t stop pacing the floor. The time has come; or so it seems. It had been months since he had been hearing rumours of a newcomer. What would happen to his world? A world he had so painstakingly built?
He tried to calm himself down. The newcomer wouldn’t be able to usurp what was rightfully his. He was over-reacting. Why should he feel threatened? His friends had gone through a similar situation recently; they seemed happy about it. Maybe he was just worrying unnecessarily.
His worst fears came true when he had overheard them one day, “We have to prepare him, you know. He must understand what’s coming.”
There they were. Across the room. Finally asking him to come over, they said

“Come here Abhay…. meet your baby sister.”

So, it is a girl, he thought. She’s sleeping in my mom’s arms….no, our mom’s arms.

As he gently touched her cheeks and kissed her face, he forgot what he was worrying about.

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

4 thoughts on “The Newcomer

  1. Good one. I remember my cousin’s son did not accept the new comer for more than year. You have described his apprehensions and also how he accepts reality very well. “Our mom’s arms” is good.

Leave a Reply

