Posted in m@dness

Risk it, I say!

Wikipedia defines risk as the potential that a chosen action or activity (including the choice of inaction) will lead to a loss (an undesirable outcome).

There is as much risk in doing nothing as in doing something. Just because something is going to end badly doesn’t mean you cant enjoy the ride. I think we don’t have analyze everything all the time, sometimes we could just let it be!

The other day I was arguing and well discussing about taking risks. People are so used to leading a simple life with no complexities that they cannot even think about taking risks! They just want things to be the way they are. How mundane is that! Most people are too afraid to do much in life because they believe that the odds are not looking that great. But how will we ever know for sure unless we let go of the fears and embrace them?

I have met some people in life with whom I knew I wasn’t going to get anywhere but it was nice knowing them. I have never ever regreted doing anything in my life, so far. C’mon it was all experiences! Whether I have succeeded or failed after taking risks? I don’t know coz I remember the experiences only and so far am sure the risks I have taken is worthwhile!I have done some things which failed to give me the desired results but it was worth the experience.

I don’t want to live with the “what if’s” in life. What if I had gone out with friends that night? What if I had taken that job they had offered?What if I had said yes that evening?What if I had gathered the courage to drive? What if I had experimented with cooking? What if I had asked him to marry me? Fine. I will crash and burn, and then get up and do it differently but I WILL do it.

I am not implying that we should not learn from our mistakes and keep taking the most absurd risks but just because you didn’t get what you wanted one time doesn’t mean you are never going to touch that subject again. Just don’t do what isn’t working. I cant just sit here and cry my eyes out because someone let me down. I dont want to not stop speaking my mind because I was shunned one time. I wont stop believing in love just because I had been hurt before. I am going to learn and do what works for me, without being afraid of the consequences.

Uncertainty and expectation are the joys of life, people.

To laugh is to risk playing the fool
To weep is to risk appearing sentimental
To reach out for another is to risk involvement
To expose feelings is to risk exposing our true selves
To put your ideas and your dreams before the crowd is to risk loss
To love is to risk not being loved in return
To live is to risk dying
To hope is to risk despair
To try at all is to risk failure
But risk must be taken Because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing
The person who risks nothing  does nothing, has nothing, is nothing
They may avoid suffering and sorrow
but they simply cannot learn,change,feel,grow,love,live…
Chained by their attitudes they are slaves
Only the person who risks is free!

Life is not as bad as it seems.

Til next time, risk it,i say!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

One thought on “Risk it, I say!

  1. My thoughts exactly. We did come into in this world for the experience. Let’s have compassion for those who do not remember since everyone has some form of amnesia the moment we appear in this 3D world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

