Posted in m@dness

To live for..or die

“We’ve lived a full life, now we choose to end it”

I first came across this news on my brother’s blog and then I had this urge to read up on what really happened.

The suicide note said, “We have lived a very eventful and happy life together,” We’ve travelled the world, lived in different countries, made more money than we ever thought possible, and enjoyed spending as much of it as we could on things that brought us joy and satisfaction. We believe in the philosophy that our life belongs to us and only us, and we have the right to choose to die as much as we have the right to live. We leave behind no debts or liabilities.”

In short, Anand and Deepa, a couple in their thirties commited suicide in Goa. Yes, suicides are quite common today but all suicides have a motive, a reason which drives people to take their own lives. However, here apparently this couple did not have any reason to do so. They were leading a luxurious life. Good job, married to each other, totally in love, happy…then y?!?!

This news kept me awake n got me thinking. What do people actually live for??

Happiness?? If yes the whats the limit of happiness..how does one realise one cannot be more happy? How does one understand true bliss??

Money???How much is too much?? I mean can anyone ever have more than they need??

Love??When do you know that you have recieved all the love in the world and that there just cannot be more?

Or just life???When should we be satisfied with life?My dad realised that he has reached his prime at 65!!! My cousins seem t have reached it around 40 and when I look around today, most young couples are on top of the world at 25 – 35 years itself! They have a good job, good money, love and enjoy life but after a couple of years they get  bored and nothing seems to amuse them!They feel as if they have achieved enlightment and their purpose of life is over or there is no motive in living further.

I really cannot understand how people can just end their lives like that!! Me, no matter what I cannot take it and would kill someone if they tried to take mine! I can never have enough of living! Whether life means happiness, sadness, mundane, love, hate, torture, apprehensions..or watever, I cannot do it and it amuses me why people do it!Don’t they realise that there is no coming back or is it because they feel the other life will be much better?!
Can we really decide when we are satisfied and see that we end our lifes happily??!! I mean does that make any sense??!!

I really am confused!

Anand and Deepa Ranthidevan, may you find whatever you didnt find here, in the other life. Wishing you happiness and courage wherever you are. May your soul rest in peace!

P.S- Just because I have written two posts on Suicide, does not mean i have suicide tendencies!!!!!!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

