Posted in m@dness

Mistakes are meant to be made

Here’s the thing about mistakes. Sometimes, even when you know something’s a mistake, you gotta make it anyway.

Sometimes you have to touch that hot plate even though you know it will burn your hand(this is from experience, not a plate, a silencer… :P). Sometimes you have to get a hair color or a hair cut we know will look awful, but you get it. Sometimes you have to taste the disgusting food to make it better the next time you cook. Sometimes you have to forget your purse in a restaurant so you can learn to be less forgetful the next time. Sometimes you have fall for the wrong person in order to find the right person for yourself.

Sometimes you have to make the mistake in order to avoid making it the next time around. A mistake is simply another way of doing things.

Someone gave a very good analogy: What do you first do when you learn to swim? You make mistakes, don’t you? And what happens? You make other mistakes, and when you have made all the mistakes you possibly can without drowning – and some of them many times over – what do you find? That you can swim? Well – life is just the same as learning to swim! Do not be afraid of making mistakes, for there is no other way of learning how to live!

You know, there are certain things in life where you know it’s a mistake but you don’t really know it’s a mistake because the only way to know that it really is a mistake is to make that mistake and go, “Yup, that was a mistake”. So really, the bigger mistake would be to not make the mistake because then you’ll go about your whole life not knowing whether it was a mistake or not. Got it?

Make mistakes and enjoy learning from it. It really makes life simple…

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “Mistakes are meant to be made

  1. Insightful post. I liked the swimming analogy. My father always says, mistakes are meant to be made. And my mother says, “I protect you because I don’t want you to make mistakes”.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

