Posted in m@dness

Of Silver Screen Romances

Some of my most favourite songs in Indian movies are those from the Tamil movie ‘Alaipayuthey’ (Saathiya was a very diluted effort in Hindi) and Guru. A R Rahman’s music was fabulous, as always. He elevated even the wedding mantras that are oft repeated by the purohits in a bored monotone, to the heights of cooldom, with his ‘Mangalyam’ number in Alaipayuthey.

But today, as I was listening to it, I couldn’t help but wonder about the whys and wherefores of the lyrics. The ‘hero’ character sings about his beloved in such poetical and glowing terms that it is guaranteed to make the knees of any girl go weak. It is either ‘endless smiles forever, I was born a hundred times just for this day’ or the ‘love kabaddi’ (a la Kadhal Sadugudu)) where the girl is to taunt and tease him with her various antics. There is also this evergreen song where he compares every single colour in the spectrum to his lady love.

All this is great, just dandy. What I do not understand is, what is the inspiration for all this? These big-time declarations of ‘luurve’ that are nowhere to be found in our society. All these men who woo their dilbaras, whatever happens to them once the objective has been reached? Boys who supposedly chased the girls till she gave in seem to give up on them once the chain is on her neck. I have never seen a husband voluntarily hold his wife’s hands, especially in front of family. In fact, the norm is pretty much to pretend that you don’t really know each other all that well. Why? Aren’t you supposed to know each other really well and show the world how much you adore each other. No not the PDA and all but still. You really are married is the look I generally give people who act like they are not a couple when they are already married!! (Yes yes I know my family will screw me for this part)

My friend recently forwarded a ‘joke’ to me about the difference in a romance at various points in life – 6 weeks, 6 months, 6 years. The change, of course, is quite dramatic, from ‘Hi honey‘ of 6 weeks to ‘hey you!‘ of 6 years!! What a shame!(I am seriously thinking of not getting married and all)

To add to my thoughts, they were airing Pyar Kiya To Darna Kya, the Salman-Kajol BLOCKBUSTER(pun intended, haven’t you heard the way these tv guys do the voice over for these B grads flop movies saying MEGA HIT OF 2012 etc) where Mr Salman, the NRI comes over to Kajol’s house to woo her and her brother to agree to their love etc.  And I sat thinking. Has anyone ever done that?? Yes Yes I know Mr. Chetan Bhagat seems to have done something on those lines, as  he has mentioned in his book 2 states. But really?? Do you really think someone has or will go through all that trouble for winning the heart of his love?

Okay, okay I know movies and reality can and should never be clubbed together even in the same sentence. But the moviemakers cannot be extrapolating things to such a degree that the result is a 180 degree ulta of real life, can they? Not to a nation where the menfolk aren’t exactly pampering their wives silly by getting them flowers everyday and romancing the be-jesus out of them?

So why are our lyricists and movie makers still feeding the poor girls of today such overwhelmingly beautiful scenarios wherein the man of their dreams will woo them to the ends of the world? Aren’t they setting everyone up for a rather steep fall?

Or is it just my cynical self coming to the fore? It is isn’t it?

I guess some dreams cinemas do come true 😛

Lungi man come soon!!!!!!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

3 thoughts on “Of Silver Screen Romances

  1. Romance at different points of time is a gem. While the hardship Salman goes through is superficial, this was repeated in Tamil and Telugu also. Whole of India went crazy about this.
    May be we are cynical…

Leave a Reply

