Posted in m@dness

The Earthquake that wasn’t

Well there was a pretty  decent  earthquake yesterday that struck Indonesia and measured 8.9 in the Ritcher Scale. So there were people across the Asian countries running out of offices and houses, staying away from the beach etc. And me…I stood at my desk looking at the news online and walking around, all the while thinking.

I remember having a close miss at death twice. It was scary the first time. Damn scary. After that it became a part of life, for me. I have seen death in a lot of forms. Like I said, I have seen it closely, missing it by a fraction of a second and I have also seen a lot of people very very dear to me, dying. My mother, my uncles, my grandmother, a guy who I had never seen but a dear friend and lastly my bestest friend. Maybe that’s the whole reason it doesn’t scare me anymore. I can cross a busy street, sit on the passenger seat of a car that is being driven at 90-120kmph, try bungee jumping and live life like it’s my last day on earth.

I had once facebooked: “ Death is more universal than life, everyone dies but not everyone lives.” There are a million ways to interpret this one liner. But the way I see it, if you are born, you just have to die and there are people who all their lives keep thinking, what if they die tomorrow, now etc and waste their time on earth doing everything except living! I pity all of them. Death could come in any form and it WILL happen one day to you. Why bother about how/when you will die when you can actually live in the way you want and then when death actually comes knocking, you can smile and say, you are ready. Isn’t that the way you gotta live life???

Haa so coming back to the reason I started writing this post, Indonesia and the quake that literally rocked half quarter of the world, atleast the casualties are low and there was no Tsunami too. Amen to that.

Until next time: ponder about how to enjoy life and not wait and invite death so that even the angels/grim reaper( whoever comes to get you :P) shudders a little bit before taking you to the other side.

Am I blabbering?!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

