Posted in close to heart, m@dness, Moanday Mornings

Spiritually Yours

In Kerala, because its god’s own country (and devils own people) all the festivals are celebrated here. Hindus celebrate christmas, easter and ramzan with the same vigour that christians and muslims celebrate onam, vishu etc. Whenever people make a huge deal about the many religious festivals celebrated here, I get very, very irritated. Cacophony, pollution and glaring lights… this is apparently the best way to celebrate some momentous occasion of whatever god it is that you believe in!! I mean, if this is devout religiousness, why!??

It is so highly commercialized that it’s disturbing! Festivals have become a mode of living for some people.As for myself I am not religious in the accepted sense of the word. I would rather have people branding me spiritual. The difference? I don’t believe in the specific gods whose belief is propagated, who preside over us as described in scripture. That is a myth, proliferated merely to satisfy mans inborn need to worship a higher power, to adulate and surrender. I believe in an aura that IS a reason we exist. I cann0t find peace in reciting prayers and hearing priests preach. I find peace in just closing my eyes and conversing with myself and a spirit inside me.

I understand that it’s all a question having faith and celebrating it, but my relentless over-practicality in such matters leads me to question- how would people on earth know that the gods came from Heaven and did such and such? Now I have nothing against this… to each his own, but it would make more sense to me to worship something like the sun, the stars, nature!!! These are real entities; great, massive, powerful… I mean, we have heard of a few gods who have fought battles etc to protect mankind but we dont have proof!! But  NAture, Wind, water etc have proved their might! Tsunami, cyclones, earthquakes. They can destroy us if they want right!?This sounds extremely disoriented, but it’s so simple, yet maintaining that sense of purity of true worship! We think we have progressed, these powerful gods we create, the rituals, the rules but we have screwed it up.. made it a protocol. We have gone backwards. The end yields a simple solution and we have obviously not attained that. Today it is organized religion, just another (quite lucrative) industry…

I’m not overly religious. Let’s say I’m in two minds about that… I don’t really believe in “God”, but at the same time I can’t be called an atheist.. one could maybe say I’m almost, but not quite entirely unlike an agnostic. I do believe that there is a higher power than all of us, who planned everything. This is mainly because, as a biology student, when I studied the various body processes, it simply amazed me the way everything fit together so perfectly. Hormones and nerves, kidneys and bones, such vague sounding combinations yet intertwined in a manner simply unbelievable. Everything works together so impeccably and every little detail is so meticulously taken care of that I thought- “This couldn’t have just happened on its own…” So there must be some governing force in our life.. there has to be..

Somewhere along the same lines, as for destiny, sometimes I like to think that I’m way too practical to believe in it.., like how can our paths be predetermined?? One HAS to work to get ahead in life and accomplish anything. Yet I hold that if things are meant to happen, they will… SOME sort of Karma exists in this world of ours, or atleast should… Work is inevitable- we must strive- and if the efforts are in the right direction, we’ll somehow get there.

So I guess I’m kind of a mix-and-match, inadvertently contradicting myself as I so often do.. Well… Now that I’ve jumbled up my words thoroughly, I’m signing off or else I’m destined never to stop!

“We are not human beings having a spiritual experience, but spiritual beings having a human experience.”

Spiritually Yours,

M@ds

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “Spiritually Yours

  1. I would say we think alike..i hate rituals, I know there is some kind of power that I cant point to..I think all of the things u wrote above, and i get even more confused in life

Leave a Reply

