Posted in m@dness

Boy, you can cry too!

When there is a lot of pain that has been trapped inside you
When u feel that u have nothing to hold on tight
When U can see your life tumbling down the steps of expectations 
 When ur heart just cannot endure anything more
When u just don’t want the day to dawn
When u jus spend sleepless nights
When u jus seem to loose yourself
When there is agony and despair piercing the eyes
When there is a betrayal by your close one hitting you tight
When there is a feeling of confusion and isolation
Yes ….When u find yourself in a traumatic state
That would be the last straw for u to break 
Why shouldn’t you

Cry your heart aloud and give vent to your feelings ??Why should you think that shedding tears is being powerless or being timid . I personally feel it’s the most unadulterated form of emotions. Yes tat powerful element “ tears” when it flows down our cheeks , our hearts starts to feel light.It tries to put our hearts in a state of composure. It acts as a catalyst to visualize some ray of hope …   It does not reduce the pain, but makes you a little sane . It does. IIf you are an avid reader of this blog, you would know that for the past few months I have been expression less. I was trying not to cry. I tried and held on for a month but in the end, when I broke into tears and cried my big fat lungs out, I felt relieved. Crying is the best way you can console yourself. It gives you strength and a sense of conviction. It really does!

What really baffles me is that Boys are called timid when they cry. The other day at a function, the brother of a bride began to cry. He was cryin because he was super attached to his sister and could not fathom that she wouldn’t be around in that house anymore. The minute he began to cry, his relatives and friends started poking him and saying “cheee vinay, you’re a boy, don’t cry! Be a man!!”  And I was thinking, what does being a man have to do with crying! Duh if he felt relieved after crying, so be it. And he wasn’t even wailing, he was just shedding a tear or two. Come on they absolutely have the right to… Its after all a form of expression of their feelings …Why should they be looked down when they express it in this  mode . When they were babies in their diapers, they were allowed to cry and scream. Even when they were toddlers, they were allowed to cry for what they want. Then why this whole constraint and restrictions and bias when adult boys (Ahem ahem) men cry! When someone dies they are allowed to cry but if something goes wrong in their relationships or with their emotions, they aren’t allowed to cry. Come on! Where did gender inequality go?! I was telling my dad the other day, its no wonder that there are more men suffering from Identity Disorders and Depression!

I am someone who believes(thanks to the early interference of Psychology) that if emotions are kept suppressed for a long time, it can cause havoc later. It’s like filling the dam with water much more than it’s capacity. If you do not constantly disperse the water, one day the dam will break and the damage is irreversible.

So if you feel low, boy or girl, you want to cry, go ahead, cry! If it’s a woman, no problem at all and if you are a man, believe me one day the world will look at you and say, “ a man who is man enough to cry.”


Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “Boy, you can cry too!

Leave a Reply

