Posted in close to heart, m@dness

While she gets married…

“I  might be getting married”, she told me.

How on earth are you supposed to react to something like this coming from that one person you’ve always loved? You’ve tied in foolish years. You’ve cried over broken loves. You’ve laughed and cried watching n number of movies together. You’ve known exactly whats on each other’s mind even when the distance is as far as a 1000 kilometres. You’ve known that even if you fall in love many times in life, you’ll always have just one special friend who is your faith in mankind when the rest of the world walks away. No, these are not just Hallmark card lines…

I’ve known her for over eight years. And for over eight years I’ve liked her with a love that amazes me. I mean, like 8 years!!!!

I liked her when she would come to my room asking for books to read. I liked her when she and I would take walks around campus. I liked her when we would take long walks. I liked her when we used to stand in queue to pick up chicken  or noodles in the mess.  I liked her when she would steer me away from the guys I would mouthwatch. I liked her when she and I would wake up at 5:30 in the morning and go for Aerobic classes! I liked her when she told  me about her motive in life. I liked her when she would explain literature to me n Budhu. I liked her when I would just snuggle up close to her and drift into sleep after an afternoon class or even right after I just got up from bed!I liked her when she would call me just when I was wondering if she knew how much of a mess I was in.I liked her when her eyes grew wide with surprise when I surprised her in HYD. I liked her when we made elaborate trips to go visit Budhu in Bhutan.

She was the only person who loved me and made a show about it. The rest of the people assumed I knew- yes I did. But once in a while someone comes along who shows you just how much.

So my best friend might be getting married.

After a long pause best fit for an art movie, I laugh. Belatedly, yes.

She laughs. Now both of us are happy.

“I really might be!”

Oh!

What’s his name ? 

The name is a mix of emotions. Nice, because it reminds me of a person I used to know. Not so nice, because it reminds me of a person I used to know.They all begin with A. I tell her that.

Why do you have to always hurt the ones you love? And consciously so? Why wasn’t I told about the love bit that supposedly comes before the marriage line? I never ask.

What about me? I almost wail.

What?

I wait and answer. The telephone bill, let it surge I think spitefully.

Well, remember you were to stay single with me if noone comes to marry me!

She laughs easily. We’ve been through this meticulously before.

No, seriously.

She says with the practiced ease of someone who knows the right answer.

We love each other too much to ever feel that getting married means growing apart.

I almost throw the phone. I was always good at making fine sounding statements. Maybe I should copyright them all.

Things will change. They always do. And learning to let go has been the lesson always. Maybe this time I’ll pass the test gracefully. I will make things easier for her. I’ve never been an easy friend to have. Paying dues. The smiling and charming best friend who ushers in people, makes smart statements, flits around and catches everybody’s eye…

I am happy for you, girl. You deserve the tall,dark and handsome man who would give the M&B Heroes a run for their money.

As for our trip to Bhutan, either we run away and come back in time for your wedding…or we wait till your wedding is over and then take a trip leaving your man behind or we wait till I get married too and then take a trip together, the four of us!

“The most beautiful discovery that true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart.”

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

4 thoughts on “While she gets married…

Leave a Reply

