Posted in m@dness

Strange but Familiar

The familiar has a strange way of transmuting into something totally strange.

Have you ever found yourself looking at a stranger in the person you thought you knew all about, wondering why you never saw this side of him before? Your childhood pal becomes a stranger over time,someone you hardly knew  becomes someone you cant wait to talk to,  lovers become strangers as spouses. The sick become strangers even for family. The people you’ve seen every single day become forgettable with time and distance. Children become strangers to their parents.

And yet you can never say you don’t know them.

Places where you’ve spent years become strange in no time – you can only remember how you used to be part of that place once, you cannot be part of it again. The cities that you spent your youth in become strange, the walls, the driveway, the windows you thought you’d never forget become new, distant in a matter of days. The stairs you’ve climbed every working day, the cupboards you stacked with precious nothing, the table you sat at for every breakfast, lunch and dinner – why do they become strangers? The corners you owned become dusty crevices of the past. And yet you say you know that place and wonder, “do you really?”

When you belong somewhere – anywhere – you can never think this person/place cannot grow distant. But the familiar does have a way of transmuting into something so very very strange…

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

