Posted in m@dness

Networking with God

I have said once in the past that I see myself becoming spiritual. Not religious. Just spiritual.

The concept of acceptance of a higher more superior being that I go to everyday with my happiness, sorrow, needs and (more importantly) gratitude is slowly making it’s way into my heart and I’m getting comfortable having that someone to talk to, even if I know that I’m never going to have a conversation with him. I’m also getting comfortable with the idea that He is listening intently to everything that I have to say.

It is still a long way to go before it can all become a way of life and before I know that I do not have to conform to societal ways of having a relationship with God. But until then, I’m glad I have my own way of communicating with him. When I take a moment off to pray to  Him, I get a feeling that He knows exactly what I am going to say next.

However, I have always questioned some very basic thoughts about God.

When I hear people saying that you have to pray a certain way, stand in front of Him a certain way or offer Him something a certain way, I am forced to think if that is what God wants us to do.

Does He not already know what we want? Does He not know when we become eligible for it? Does He grant us something because we wore a certain dress or we offered something others already hadn’t or because we stood very modestly and humbly in front him when we prayed?

Inn a book I had read sometime ago, I had come across this notion of “angering the Gods” and how an entire dynasty witnessed the downfall of the empire because of it. People were expected to pray a certain way so that it would please the Gods and grant them their desires.

But I have always thought – why would God get angry? Does he really get angry? When we say He is a superior being (which means, he is less human and more divine), isn’t He devoid of all emotions that are predominantly a human being’s forte?

The other thing that struck me was – and if I remember right – was someone telling me about praying to the God in a special way because He is listening to everyone and will not be able to keep track of my request. So if He has to listen to me particularly, I had to please Him and pray to Him in a special way. hihihihihi

…and I went “God is just as bad at Accountancy as I was!” 🙂

Jokes apart, it made me think. Why do we think that we have to go so out of the way for God to see us? Doesn’t He see us and know us otherwise?

What I understood while reading “The Forty Rules of Love” by Elif Shafak was that Sufism believed that each person can LOVE God in his/her own way. There are no set rules and God does not refuse anyone’s love. God takes equal care of everyone and he doesn’t distinguish between rich and poor. All one had to do was find their own way towards loving God and practice it. That’s all it took to be close to God. And that is what they propagated to the world.

While reading this book, there were many moments when, after reading a certain page or paragraph, I would close the book and think about what I just read. About how simple this whole “spirituality” thing is and how complex we make it to be. It is all someone’s inference/interpretation that we’re today following customs and rituals. We do not know who started it and why. All we know is that a certain thing has been done a certain way for long and hence it is believed to be the right way. Those who question it are ridiculed or plain termed “different”. Similarly, if our religious scriptures were interpreted the way they were supposed to be, it would have been a much better place to live in today.

It is about time we realized that each one of us (if you wish to have one and if you already have one) has a special relationship with God. It may not adhere to the traditional or orthodox setup but it is special alright.

And me? Whenever I get the time or when I need a push or a pull,I stop whatever am doing and talk. Every night I say thank you and ask him for strength to move on to the next day. And thus….goes my conversations with him!

P.S- Dont you think it would have been easy, if he was on facebook?! hihihihii

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

