Posted in m@dness

Of Civil Unions

How do you react when a friend tells you that he would like to get married to another he. I laughed my heart out. Not in a way that I was making fun of same sex couples but because both the “he’s” in question were known to me. I did have a hearty laugh after a long time thinking of psycho on his knees proposing to AD while AD blushed. It really was hilarious. I could picture psycho in one of his shorts and tees and AD in a dress! I could picture AD saying “Yes” and also a cake with two men in tuxedos on the top instead of the regular bride n groom miniatures!

Well he was obviously joking when he said that both of them were made for each other and that they truly understood each other. N I was thinking, well if understanding and giving each other space and feeling special about each other and respecting each other and loving each other is what marriage is about, then why do people have such a problem with same sex unions! Aren’t they allowed to be happy? Duh!

Yes marriage is about a whole lot of other things too but isn’t happiness and comfort of primary importance. I do know someone who swings the other way and not once has that affected my dealings with him. I have seen him with his partner too and have found them to be a really cute and mature couple. They know exactly what they want in life and from life. They are like all regular couples too, they have their moments, their arguments, their bond and their love. Then why do people have such a strong notion against them.

Love and be loved. Marry the man or woman that you love, and give your life to them. Nothing else is of the slightest importance. Love’s young dream isn’t alien, in the words of the pop song. It’s the whole point of being human. I wish we talked about it a little more often  and just let them live their life too.

P.S- Just coz I stand up for same sex rights does not make me any less straight!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

