Posted in m@dness

Being in…..

I am beginning to feel that there is a huge difference between being in a relationship and being in love.  If you look around, you’d see people running helter-skelter in pursuit of their careers. Something, which is actually quite good both for an individual and for the society in which he or she lives. But it is when people complicate things by bringing love or relationships in between their career goals that the problems start.

A person always tries to achieve everything there is to a succesfull life. It begins with acquiring the best of education, leading to a job which earns him a little more than that’s required for a luxurious life(read: little more than his peers). I guess that should be satisfying enough for anyone who intends to be successful. But in today’s times, people consider themselves to be successful not by what they have achieved, but by what others think that they have achieved.

I guess I’m drifting from the topic here. But coming back to it, a relationship is now just another necessity people tend to add to their achievements. Just like a car is a necessity for a working person in today’s times, so is a relationship. People, more than anything, need to be known to be going around with someone.  But just as a person cannot take his car along with him or her if he shifts to another country, similarly does he act in case of relationships. So, as a person is happy to sell off his old car before shifting to a new place for better work options, he is equally happy to break off his or her relationship too. To the extent of throwing a break-up party!! ( am not kidding, a friend of mine in bangalore called up to say that our friend couple broke up and that he was on is way to their break up party!)

I agree to the fact that people have their own career dreams. Some are nurtured right from childhood. But should the pursuit of a dream be such that it doesn’t even care about the most important people in one’s own life ?? In other words, can a dream career/fame/big pay-package take preference over love in one’s life ?It can’t! It shouldn’t. And if it does, it is not love. It is just a relationship. Because love can never be a hindrance to any dream. In fact, it is a great motivating factor towards any achievement a person dreams of. 

People tend to show that they have different priorities. For them their career dreams are above anything else. Even love. But personally, I feel that such people have never loved. How can job/money/fame be more important than a soul mate ?? Ya ya I know all  you “practical” people would nod your heads and say, one must be practical in life.

But what they don’t understand is, if it’s really love, there is no amount of thinking the brain can do to get matters straight. It is only the heart that can.

Sometime back I read a quotation somewhere which said, “Love is a decision, not an emotion.”

But personally, I have always felt that…‘Love is a wonderful emotion; it can never be a decision.’

And this is the hopeless romantic in me signing off for the day.

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

One thought on “Being in…..

Leave a Reply

