Posted in m@dness

The Girl Gang

For the record: I was listening to “Tumhi ho bandhu” from cocktail and the lyrics really did inspire this  post.

I’m not “best friends” with too many people. And I’ve always thought there’s something about me that stops people I consider good friends from reciprocating the same emotion for me. I haven’t exactly been the confidante of many people, the girl who friends turn to for help. I really would like to be, have always wanted to be.However my girl gang would vouch for me and say that I have never ever hesitated in lending a helping hand or ear when they have called for help. It hurts to love a friend, seek her company and not have that emotion reciprocated. But that’s not going to stop me from counting the many friends I’ve shared good times with: girls whom I haven’t met in years and yet we can pick up the phone and talk to each other like we were together just yesterday. 

Div’s one of them. She’s a tough girl, seen tough times and come out a winner. In college, she was totally missable. But as a friend, she could read your mind almost like she was living inside it. Even before I knew what I wanted in life, she did! It was amazing how she predicted even whileI was in denial mode, that I would LIVE life not just survive She can see my follies and will ignore them when she can, but will be honest when she gets a chance, scold me, even badger me when the time’s right.

Speed’s my Alter Ego. I mean she is like this nemesis. I have always wanted to be like her. Live life in a very carefree and free spirited way. She takes on life as it comes and comes it victorious. She and I think at two extremes and can never get along together for more than an hour without arguing. She is the reason I am so bold now. She has always stood by me even if it has been years since I met her. Dilemma, Happiness, Anger or Love,I know she is just around the corner and just a call away from landing at my door.

And there’s Sinsin: so lovable, so adorable and so damn fiery.I could live with her forever. She and I have had this hate-love relationship. Mostly because of this on your face attitude. She has no hesitation in whacking me and telling me right from wrong even if means I’ll cry my heart out. But she also lets me be weird and wacko without a guilt! She knows my fears, my strengths and she knows what can make me smile with my heart. We have had bouts of shopping, baby sitting and just chatting. We can just laze around and yet have the time of our lives.The one person I would wake up to even if I was in a comma. She has stood by me and lost out on friends.We’ve come a long way and love splurging on each other even now.

There’ve been friends at work – Stella and Ume and after sparring and bitching, we bonded like best friends should. Times change, people move on, but with some people you never want things to change. And that’s how I feel for them – two very different people, very precious to me, girls I love to hang out with, girls I respect for who they are. They will laugh at my earing fetish and read my blog when they can but never leave a comment! We share little in common, except that something that you can’t put your finger on. Or maybe we can – our life experiences.

The office that I work in now has another M, Milan. She is this entity that has energy just bubbling all the time. She can make you laugh and make you think all at the same time. She is primarily the reason, I even feel like going to work everyday. In a lot of ways, I see a younger version of me in her. And her tongue,  mind it!! She has her own story but she will listen to you and make sure you feel good after that conversation. She smiles with her heart and we bond over love, love for life , food and god. 

And then there are my sisters –Chech, Su and Nanchi: my pillars of strength, people I love so, so, so, so, much I can overlook any wrong they do. The fact though is, that they’re overlooking all wrong I do, all the time. I’ve spent a huge chunk of my life just talking to them and I could spent a huge chunk of my future doing that, except that they’re now too busy with life in general. I know I can count on them any time, anywhere. We’re sisters, friends and more. And what I am is so much because of what they are. They’re my girls!

Anju, Anu, DJ, Gij, Tee and Tan: These are girls with whom I’m still forging relationships. They’re special but our friendship still has to face the test of time. And I know we’ll pass.

“The best way to mend a broken heart is time and girlfriends” ~ Gwyneth Paltrow

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

One thought on “The Girl Gang

Leave a Reply

