Posted in close to heart, m@dness

Beauty lies within

A man I once knew told me that Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder and my dad keeps telling me that beauty lies within.We live in a world of stereotypes, opinions, judgments and assumptions, which we may not have been party to creating but are influenced by, nonetheless. There is no denying that influential beauty stereotypes exist that fill the pages of fashion magazines and brim over in cinematic endeavors. A desire for perfection- the perfect skin, the perfect hair, the perfect nose… has crept into the mind of every girl.

Beauty beliefs start early in life, I think. When my dad gifted me My First Barbie doll with a pretty white frock and a plastic body, she was my first definition on beauty. The definition has changed dramatically over the years; from a Bollywood actress to a Hollywood actress, from a pop singer to a woman in a corporate suit, from a friend to an aesthetic.

I was in the auto-rickshaw on my way back home from office the other day, battling the usual traffic and potholes that take you right down to hell. As I waited anxiously for the signal to turn green, I saw something. An image that has remained in my memory ever since. A poor old beggar woman was sitting on the pavement. She had deep wrinkles on her face, and the way her sari hung on her gave away her malnutrition.Ordinarily, I wouldn’t have been moved by this sight.But, then I saw her extend her right hand in front of her and smile. I couldn’t help but stare. It was only after a few seconds that I realized there was a broken fragment of a mirror in her hands. She adjusted a few strands of her hair, opened her eyes wide and smiled.
And in that moment, she was the most beautiful woman I’d seen.

And I realized that beauty can never have a base value. It is such a fragile commodity, subjective by its very definition, that there is no generalized basis for what one may consider a thing of beauty. With Photoshop, touch-ups and cosmetic surgery being the talk of the day, this may come across as being a superficial argument. But it truly is a wake-up call to me.  For every day I wake up feeling fat, zit-prone or having an electric shock inspired hairstyle, I think of her happily. 🙂 These days when my male friends look at the “Beautiful” women who have perfect skin, hair n whatever n comment, I smile. I smile coz I believe that someday a man will come who would see the beauty I contain within me and love me inspite of me having far from perfect skin n looks!

“Socrates called beauty a short-lived tyranny; Plato, a privilege of nature; Theophrastus, a silent cheat; Theocritus, a delightful prejudice; Carneades, a solitary kingdom; Aristotle, that it was better than all the letters of recommendation in the world; Homer, that it was a glorious gift of nature; and Ovid, that it was favor bestowed by the gods.”

Surely, beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

One thought on “Beauty lies within

Leave a Reply

