Posted in m@dness

Agnostically yours

Maybe it’s my lack of life experience. Lack of knowledge of events, or of people. Whatever be the reason, it has led to my belief, or disbelief in certain pertinent issues.

For one, I don’t believe in Religion. My father and many elders I know, believe this is one of those phases. I’m at an age where it is my solemn duty to question, and then, disregard all known established practices and beliefs. But, in actuality, that’s not the case. I’m old enough to know better than to be blindly caught up in the whirlwind of rebellion.

This what I believe. Spirituality, faith, luck, destiny- they’re all symbolic of one thing. Our collective sense of being powerless.Our helplessness to face what life throws our way. All of the aforementioned, only attempt at making somewhat coherent sense of the randomness of the shocks and curve-balls that find our way. Faith in a higher power, who makes everything okay, and gives the happy ending to every story, gives (some of) us the ability to hang on, beat life at its own game or at least play at par. Because as humans, we are just not attuned to expect the unexpected. Our worries add up to more worries, insecurities multiply into a dozen more, and when times are rough, such blind faith in someone who can make all our sadness disappear is an easy way out. Most important of all, it gives us hope. Now, hope is something I believe in. And I don’t need to believe in some religious book to have that strong belief that the outcome of all my actions, or even actions beyond my control, will be good.

But, pragmatist that I am, I’m going to toe the line and say I’m an agnostic. Coz if God really does exist, and he reads this blog post , then I really wouldn’t want to burn in hell!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

One thought on “Agnostically yours

  1. Hi, I like what you have written. Just to add my own thoughts is that regardless of how old you are – unless you are a devout ‘X’ – questioning, as you do, arises many times if an ‘X’ religion doesn’t seem to be doing it for you. I read a great article I want to share with you:

    http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2008/05/10-reasons-you-should-never-have-a-religion/

    It’s quite funny, not in a haha sense, but more in a “Yeah, I never looked at it that way” sense.

    Maybe those of us who struggle with a God/Higher-Power/Religion means we are looking in the wrong direction of where our lives should be heading and need to look elsewhere. Perhaps.

    Take care, Imogen

Leave a Reply

