Posted in m@dness

Looking for Nair Boy!

Is this how life is supposed to be after you turn 26? I may be looking at my phone and smiling or chatting on the phone with a friend or reading a book and laughing or sometimes just smiling to myself but I certainly must be giving false alarm to my dad coz he keeps misinterpreting those signals as me having some “activity” in my life! If you do not know what I mean, read on……. 

Me smiling at computer screen 

Das( Das is my dad by the way)  – You chatting? With who?

Me (Knowing what’s coming) – Oh… this sort of  friend of mine… a boy!

Das (Happy happy. Expectantly sits on the bed beside me and smiles while asking me.) – What’s his name?

Me (Smiles at him and tries hard to fake a blush) – Arjun

Das (Smiles even more wide) – Malayali ????

Me – Oh yes! Malayali acha!

Das (Sitting up) – Good good! Is he handsome? What are his qualifications? Is he single? Where is he working?

Me – Yes he is very handsome, an engineer and as far as I know he is single and works for an MNC and also happens to be your nephew!!!!! Acha, am chatting with monu!!

Das immediately gets up on the pretext of getting a phone call! 

 

At the cake shop, where I met a school mate
After he left –

Das – Nair boy????

Me – Married n wife is expecting!

Das- *Sigh*

 

Me talking quite loudly and laughing even more loudly whilst chatting with a friend on phone

After phone call –

Das – Who was that? Have never seen you talk so animatedly.

Me – My friend Rajeev

Das – Ohhhh! Nair boy ????

Me (eyes him angrily) – Rajeev George, acha! 

Me – *Sigh*

 Looking at mobile and smiling at 11:00pm 

Das- Aren’t you sleeping?  

Me – Hmmm. Yes.

Das(With a grin)- Then who is keeping you awake?

Me – A doctor.

Das- Thats nice! Nair boy? 

Me- Dr. Derek Shepard From Grey’s Anatomy, acha!!!!!!!!!!! I just switched off the TV and was smiling thinking of the narration at the end of the episode!! Get a life!!!!!!

*Siiiighhh*

Its like this matrimonial site advertisement! The one with the dad looking at the  daughter and running behind men with a garland/turban in hand! I tell you, 26 n unmarried can really get to you n can make even the most low lying dads,hyper n excited!!!

So if you’re a guy above 26 and you happen to talk to me, be warned – The ever famous ‘Nair Boy’ question might be coming your way soon! 😉

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “Looking for Nair Boy!

Leave a Reply

