Posted in m@dness

And still we work

I got up about 5 minutes earlier than usual today and was sulking about getting up from bed and going to work n all that. Thats when I listed out what exactly are the highs and lows of going to work or just being employed.
 
The Highs!
Early to bed, early to rise makes you healthy, wealthy and wise. I am totally against this but since its universally accepted, there must be some truth to it. So I have to wake up at 5 am every single day n go to bed at about 11 pm.
You end up eating your lunch on time(which is good especially if you are dieting n exercising n all that). You are always looking for an excuse to get away from work and what better excuse than lunch time. It’s the only break away from work which is totally acceptable.

You get to meet new, interesting (and uninteresting) people. More the number of homo sapiens to irritate, the happier you get.Ryt?

You are succumbed to less nagging at home coz your family kinda figures out that you aren’t so useless after all. Well, as for me, my family always always finds some way of finding out how useless I am and if they dont get anything, they go back into the past, dig up an old incident and prove that I am useless! Bah! Someday…Someday
You get to waste your time some place else other than home. At home , you are wasting your time in front of T.V and at work you are wasting your time in front of the computer browsing the Internet for something thats least informative. I look up travelling sites and figure out places to go.
 
 
The most important point – you get paid for doing close to nothing. The more idle you are, the more you get paid. Example – the managers of an organization (hope my boss doesn’t read this).No, seriously. I actually feel bad for the workers on the shopfloor. They work their ass off and still get paid peanuts! Anyway, I get paid so am not supposed to complain!
 
The Lows…..
Early to bed, early to rise makes you healthy,wealthy and wise. I know I mentioned this in the advantages part, but how can not having a life make you healthy ? Getting early to bed doesn’t necessarily make me want to get up early. On the contrary, it makes me want to sleep more and curse my work… is cursing your work a wise thing to do ?
 
You get stuck in a time table of sorts. A time tabled life. Who wants that ? You could be out there doing more interesting things like shopping! Instead, you end up sitting in front of the computer all day long thinking why the hell you are there spoiling your eyes for which you are paid a pittance.
 
You have to laugh at the manager’s unfunny jokes (?). You have to make it sound as if its the funniest thing you have ever heard in your life even though inside you are wondering how much of a competition he would have been to Suppandi!N you have to make the boss feel that he is THE most intelligent person on planet earth all the while knowing that he is just parading  on the border lines of dumb n dumber!
 
You can go for vacation only if you are allowed to! You have to slog so that your manager can go for vacation even if he sneezes. They get tired by just watching you work ?
 
All this and so much more and still we end up waking up every single morning and getting to work and slogging and sulking and cribbing and at the end of the day feel like its all a viscious circle!
 
 
Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

