Posted in close to heart

An affair to remember

Everyone has affairs. Every one! If you meet someone who tells you they havent, slap them coz they are lying! I have been having this one for about 3 years now and it still feels like the first day. I have had flings before but this one has been the longest.I am still in love, just as much as i was when I was first introduced to it, 9 years ago.

Bengaluru Bangalore.

Hosur…Electronic City….Silk board..Madiwala…Forum…Bannerghatta Road…Koramangala…Commercial Street..Brigade Road…Indira Nagar…Bangalore Central…Blossoms…..Garuda Mall…Nalli…Nandi Hills…Cheap Chinese…KFC and McD…..Corner house…Chaai in 4 cm tall cups…smell of cigarattes..Eva mall…men that smell of alcohol and expensive perfume…Lal Bagh…Cubbon Park..Trinity Circle…..MG Road…. Utility Building…Stones…..Bunkers… UB City…Phoenix Mall…..Autowalas with attitude…..the many many palyas and hallis and puras n more

I came to Bengaluru first when it was Bangalore. And just because people want to change the name and already have, I am not going to call it by any other name.Its weird that there is something about this place that I am not able to define. Like, Coimbatore- I usually get a feeling of  nostalgia and  its always been about soaking in the culture or the lack of it ,Bombay gives me that mad rush feeling, it makes me want to run and catch up to something or the other at that moment . With Kottayam its always that at home feeling. Pondichery is another town I have a long history with and thats a post for another day. With all the other cities and towns I have traveled to, the relation I have maintained with them have always been similar to that of a One Night Stand. But with Bengaluru Bangalore, I am not able to pin point what it is that I love about it. The city has an aura of being nice and sweet and kind of small towned with the new city atmosphere jostling in space with an old town feeling. For every morning that I wake up in Bengaluru  Bangalore, the city gives me one more reason to fall in love with it.

There is the yellow and purple spring in Bengaluru Bangalore with a mild chill in the morning; The hot summer which starts off with the pleasant smell of summer holidays and the chirping birds by mid to late March; The pre-monsoon bursts of May to cool off the summer, the monsoons heralded by the heavy winds of June; the wet months of July, August and September, the gloomy months of October and November; followed by the cold nights and chilly but sunny days of December and January. And to add to all of that, a weather that is cool all around the year. Bengaluru  Bangalore, you are not just green n brown like Cochin, you are colourful. The riot of colours that you have has always made me feel as if I was in some exotic land, The bright reds, the lovely oranges, the delightful pinks, the lemony yellows, you sure are colourful!

The multitudes of people that swarm its streets every day aren’t in that mad rush like in Mumbai or snail paced like in Cochin. Its a healthy pace. Its called the garden city but not once have I sat down in any of those and my affair has nothing to do with roses and lilies!  The malls and shopping areas have been the most expensive stress busters  I have come across but they are really good. A must recommend! The streets of Commercial, Brigade and Koramangala that I have mindlessly wandered innumerable times. The canopy at select residential locations in Koramangala that offers you a beautiful walk to get your creativity bubbling.The infinte number of restaurants that has a meal for everyone. From 20 Rs biriyani to the high end ones. A meal for all budgets. Isn’t that a gastronomical delight or what!

Most importantly, no matter how crowded n polluted the city might look to people, it gives me a sense of calm. Probably because unlike the place I come from, here, people aren’t bothered about what you do, how you look and they just stick to their own business. Even friends in this city do not probe into the nitty grittys of your life and leave you by yourself. The city offers you a strange peace, atleast to me it does. It has given me strength whenever I thought I couldnt go on, it has protected me many a time from realities if life, it has given me much needed warmth on cold nights and it has given me love just when I needed it. People call it the garden city and they do that for a reason. However, if I was to give it a tag, it would be Soul City.

So…as for my affair with this lovely land..it shall continue for eons to come. After all, it is the city I was reborn in and the city that made me understand life, holistically.

Until next time, Ill miss you.

 

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

8 thoughts on “An affair to remember

  1. perfect post on Bangalore.. the city i love the most… the best thing about bangalore, people let you be what you are, no one cares what you are up to, yet in some strange ways it makes you feel complete. you can spend a day alone with ease, you can just enjoy being there with no one in particular.
    Bangalore taught me to live life too… i seriously enjoyed this post… oh, i miss that place. you made me nostalgic!

  2. Haven’t been to B’lore so really cant say what its like.. But sounds interesting…maybe even better than Cochin or Mumbai(been 2 both and hate both)..Id prefer home(ktym) over the two anyday..

    1. B’lore is a must visit place and whenever you do, think of me :). And why dont you like Cochin??!?!?! I love kottayam not for the place as it is but for the people I know who are from there and the memories I have that are associated with it…

      1. First let me get 2 B’lore and ill definitely think of you (who or whatever you are) when i get there..
        And KTYM is known for its awesome people…Case in point being me.. 😉

  3. Cochin is a long story…I dont think the space here would suffice… Nothing personal against Cochin…Just my experiences there…
    Do i write? Yes…but every word is safely locked up in my desk for the greater good..

Leave a Reply

