Posted in m@dness

I have a job, too.

So I have a job, too. I’ve had it for the last three years and 6 months. It would be fair to say that it really is nothing like I expected it would be. I love that line. It is so loaded. It could be the statement of an HR fresher who has been lucky enough to find her niche in the World of Work in the first attempt, or it could be the gripe of a disillusioned HR Professional who finds that the World of Work has placed her in its very dregs.

Don’t worry, I’m somewhere in between. I’m not likely to die of too much happiness or become an embittered, cantankerous old lady who lives with a parrot with a charming disposition anytime soon.

I work at a manufacturing firm that makes seasonings and food ingredients. A pretty huge firm with about 135 permanent staff and 100 casuals, I am proud when I say that I am the sole HR who takes care of all the issues. Right from sourcing to exit interviews of all of them is taken care by me. So when you come to think of it, its a dream job for all HR professionals. You can learn everything and have a first hand shot at every aspect in HR. But thats that. When you work for a family business, you have a lot of limitations.

Anyhow, I’ve learned some valuable lessons during my not so long career. One is that mindblocks are very pesky things, and they have lousy timing. Secondly, levels of ignorance are bound to be higher once you step out of your hallowed college campus, so that shouldn’t surprise you. Third, most people will not understand your need to talk aloud to yourself or have fun with ur friends at work, and they will react by smiling indulgently and giving you their best “She’s SUCH A Child” look. Next, people say some shockingly inappropriate and offensive things sometimes. When you simmer down, you’ll realize that the bloke has a daughter, who shall grow up someday. And then you smile slowly, sure in the knowledge that life will teach him. Finally, you will sorely miss the time when your friends were the people that you spent most of your days with. Understanding, empathy, love and friendship are very, very precious things. And if you’re lucky enough to actually find a friend in your workplace, go break a coconut in a temple or something. Most people bring only one part of themselves to their workplace, and that is not really enough sustenance for a friendship. It’s good enough for a few laughs and general niceness, but not really friendship.

Oh and if you are an unmarried girl of marriageable age, a gazillion people will ask, in tones of utmost concern.”Why don’t you get married?”. After the fifty-eth time, you’ll smarten up, stop explaining, plaster your best wise-grandma smile and say,”Because I don’t feel like”(and say”Because I am scared that I’lll turn into something like you” on your mind.)

I like parts of my job. I like that I have a few good friends. I like that I can present ideas to the boss,even though he thinks it is bull shit and rarely heeds my advice. I like that there’s a room where I can read the newspaper everyday after lunch. I like the fact that tea is free. What I don’t like is the amount of  nagging that takes place here. I hate the narrow mindedness almost everyone seems to posses here.I don’t like the profusion of gender offensive cursing, and the lack of awareness about the offensiveness of it. I don’t like the recycling of old ideas. I don’t like that people just detest change in any form.

But inspite of all this, I’m very, very lucky that I actually get to do what I’m good at, and have my work taken seriously. Sometimes….Rarely.

 

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

One thought on “I have a job, too.

  1. hahaha..do you know that saying? “Oh, you hate your job? Why didn’t you say so? There’s a support group for that. It’s called EVERYBODY, and they meet at the bar.”..not that u hate ur job..i just got reminded of it after reading your post..I have mixed feelings about what i do too..sometimes i like it, sometimes i hate it..well!

Leave a Reply

