Posted in m@dness

What can I call you

I think I am in love with my name. I like it so much that I’d strangle anyone who named their child my name! I think every human is entitled to having a unique name.So well, I was talking to M and we were on our babbling spree when she announced that she would name her girl Manna which apparently means (in the Bible) The substance miraculously supplied as food to the Israelites in the wilderness (Exod. 16). Not surprising eh. I mean nobody who knows us would be surprised if we told them that our kid’s names were related to food! My brother used to joke(still does) that my kids would be named aakrant(greed. Read greed for food) and aarthi(again femme version of aakrant). Oh and M and I arent even married. M will be in a few months and my knight is still stuck in anothe planet I guess.

So I have seen quite a few couples run around to name their kiddo and end up naming them and detesting it later. I mean, if they could come and ask me for names and actually chose those names too, imagine their helplesness, insanity and confused state of being! Hihihii. So I decided I’ll spare myself the horror then and start collecting names and pile it up here and choose from it when(if) the time comes. I mean its a name we are talking about and so it really has to be decided with utmost importance. I know a couple who named their child, only to find out later that it was a very disgusting word in arabic!Oh and they lived in Dubai.. SO i think it really very crucial yeah.

So here are a few favourites from here and there. I will keep adding to it as and when I come across unique names.

Daksha
Dhruv
Milan
Steve
Stephan
Manasa
Manav
Ami
Sanjeev
Maitreyi
Mythili
 Miriam
Sameer
Samar
Sameera
Sairah
Sakshi
Dia
Esha
Gautami
Mridul
Mrinal
Lavanya
Trisha
Ayush
Chinmay
Darshan
Niranjan
Sidharth
Devan
Devika
Narendran
Abhimanyu
Tripti
Maia
 

P.S- I am proud to have named quite a few children whose parents were kind enough(some even forced) to let me name them. Lilian, Hannah, Joel, Saurav, Nivin, etc….But, I enjoyed naming all of you and to me you will always be special:)

P.P.S- I kinda secretly consider myself the Godess of all things names:)

P.P.S- You can defenitely reach out to me if you want to name your kid eh. Ill be more than happy to help. 🙂

Oh and yes no matter where you come from, I’d be happy if you share your favourite names too…

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “What can I call you

    1. Oh!I’d love to but you need to give me some details! What names? Does it have to be religion specific etc…
      And I am sure you can select some lovely name for your kiddos. Does it really have to come from me?!

Leave a Reply

