Posted in m@dness

Beauty aint even skin deep!

“For you my dear, coz you are special to me. I may not tell you everyday but you are my sunshine. I dont want you hiding from the world just because you think the world is too cruel to plump, zit faced people like you and me. Screw them! Trust me when I say, there really are people who know for a fact that beauty aint even skin deep. Its a lot more. “

There was a zit fest going on in my face – only on the left side though. Kind of made me look like Two Face. I wondered if I wasn’t not a touch too old for  pimples? I mean, I thought I was done with acne when I was done with my first love. And yet here I was, sprouting zits in my old prime age. I was thinking about this at the gym the other day, cycling, vacantly staring into the tv and counting my zits with my index finger when this seriously hot chick landed on the treadmill just in front of me.

Somehow I couldnt help think about one of my besties. Anyway, I noticed she wasn’t exactly beautiful but within a few minutes I was lost – in awe of the even distribution of body mass in all strategic locations as opposed to the mad splattering of said body mass in some other people. Like me, for instance. And predictably, she was also tall (from where I stand, anything above 5’5″ is tall), had flawless, radiant skin and great hair. It’s unfair. If she were a fruit, she’d be a juicy,  luscious, deep-red apple that you only see in pictures – the kind that makes you crave apples even if you’re not an apple person at all. She didn’t even look too young – about 26 or 27, which is just how much I am too. So I ended up doing the most damaging thing you can do in such a situation.Yeah, as much as I sound intelligent sometimes, I can be really dumb at time too. Just some times eh.

I compared my blotchy, zit-ridden skin and ample cellulite reserves with her goddess-like body and felt all the endorphins I had worked up till then, quickly draining out. Thats when i remembered a convesation I had with Sin the other day. Madam Sin was threatening me with dire consequences ifI didnt take out her pics from FB and untag her! She told me she was feeling akward about the way she looked now and stuff. I wanted to shake her and scream at her and say- But you’re a mom! Sin, the girl with the godess like body was probably a rich babe (looked the part) gearing up for her wedding. She’s only luscious because she’s still hanging on the tree, waiting to be picked. You on the other hand, have been picked, bitten, chewed and spat out. Look at you! You should be glad you’re even alive with enough energy to walk, woman! Ha. That argument almost always ends the self-destructive thought pattern. Childbirth always wins hands down. I could write a hundred books before I die and even win the Booker, but as far as I am concerned, making, bringing out and being bullied by tiny human graciously, will always be the greatest accomplishment ever. This is probably why I think being a home-maker is the most challenging job in the universe. Because I can’t do it. It’s mentally, emotionally and physically draining, not to mention, thankless. No, I am not married and have no kids but I have been around a lot of mom to be’s wo have become moms eventually and have watched them with awe and respect and have learnt things that I am sure would take me a long way and thats how I know so much about the process of ” 9 months” and after.

I digress.

So, just because you are an excess 5 kilos and have a patchy face and look a lil dull, do not think the world hates you or that people will laugh at you. Really, beauty isnt even skin deep. To live a happy life, you dont need to be beautiful and you really dont need anybody’s approval that you are beautiful, all you need is a loving family who accepts you just the way you are. Blotchy and fat! When people realise that beauty aint even skin deep, the world will be a better place to live in and you would be a more happy person!

Anyway, yeah I cant make childbirth an excuse and stay happy coz I am already a bit on the healthy side(i like to use the word healthy instead of fat) inspite of being unmarried. This navy guy’s proposal that was making the rounds of my house apparently went kaboom because he wanted a slim girl! What can I say? Maybe he doesnt want kids, maybe he wants fruits for breakfast and salads for dinner, maybe cycliing and gymming are his hobbies. I think god wanted us all to be a little healthy which is why he has made earth abundant with chickens and meat and less of fruits and vegetables. Or so, I’d like to think.Well I have been gymming and making some serious lifestyle changes so hopefully I will be a bit more healthy! So,  like I was saying, only time will tell if aforementioned luscious apple will continue to remain so after childbirth. Actually, for many women, it doesn’t even take that much. Marriage somehow magically makes them pack on the pounds. So maybe luscious apple will look more like steroids-injected apple then. Giggle. I’m happy now. Life is fair and all is well again in my head.

I just hope I don’t find out that luscious apple is in fact a married, mother of three tomorrow.

Ouch.

 

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

One thought on “Beauty aint even skin deep!

Leave a Reply

