Posted in m@dness

Blog Not!

Disclaimer: This applies ONLY if you are planning to get into an arranged marriage. Now before you go ahead and say that you have absolutely no plans whatsoever to get into one, let me tell you that neither did I! 😉

We all know how powerful the social media can be! You can increase the number of blog followers, traffic etc etc by just posting your blog link to your Twitter, Facebook or Orkut profile. Few years back, I felt the need to bring forth my blog to a larger audience and like many others ended up putting my blog link on social networking sites. Then came the time when I reached (*shy is coming*) a marriageable age and my family couldn’t just wait to get rid of me.

Proposals were are coming, and somehow whenever a new proposal comes in I could see an increase in my blog traffic. All of a sudden I would get hyper thinking my blog has finally got the recognition it rightfully deserves! Alas, i figured(after a talk with a more intelligent friend) that those were all from the same source at precisely the time when the proposals were doing rounds:( Somehow the grin gets swiped off my face and I wait for the meet up with the prospective groom(not that I have met any yet but come on these are all possiblities ryt) to be only asked the question – “So you blog eh?”. Oh duh!

Nothing wrong in that question, you might say.But what if he blabbers on and on about your life? No conversation happens. He already knows everything — Mr. know-it-all. And he wants justifications to all your posts – “Why did you say that? What did you mean by that?” And you just go “Errrr!” with wide eyed innocent eyes not knowing that simple posts on marriage would bring so much of controversy in the future!

I need not tell you that once a proposal comes in, the guy/girl searches for your profile on social networking sites to find out the ugly truth about you. My cousin who smokes as if there’s no tomorrow had mentioned he’s a non-smoker on his marriage profile, but on his Orkut profile he had mentioned ‘occasionally’. Even if you intend to lie, do it properly — remember not to forget about the different lies you tell to different people! Note them down, if necessary. And it’s best to tell the same lie to different people so that you need not remember to whom you told the dreaded lie to. Similarly if need be, make it a point to mention that you’re a non-smoker in ALL of your social networking site profiles. Oh well, just so that you know(in case you are planning to bring an alliance for me) i dont mind if the Nair Boy drinks but yes I’d hope he aint a chain smoker:)

Coming back to the point, prospective brides and grooms search social networks to know more about you. If they see you hugging 3 or 4 people of the opposite sex, you are going to get a bad impression and probably you would end up getting rejected. I mean, most of us want to be the one and only. We don’t want to land up in your next profile picture as ‘one’ among the many. Aaah.. you see the reason behind all the various rejections now doncha? 😀 Remove that picture.. NOW! Oh then again me, I’d look at it like my nair boy is not an anti social psycho! But yeah thats just me eh.

While scanning your profile, nothing could interest the prospective bride or groom more than a personal blog. More juicy details for them, more embarrassing consequences for you. They will read and read — almost every post of yours — and will form an impression about you even before they meet you. That’s not very good, no?

So here’s what you Should Do Before Getting Married:

Remove your blog link from all social networking sites

Remove ‘blogging’ from your interests. Some smart asses will even try to google for your blog if they find out that you are a passionate blogger.

And here’s what you Shouldn’t Do Before Getting Married:

Give your blog link away in the first meet up itself. It’s better to talk to him directly about your life, no? Why limit your conversations? ;D

Ok, enough of the gyaan! You now know what’s best for you. Remember, this applies only for people who have entered a marriageable age and are thinking of getting into an arranged marriage. Rest of you can read and blog in peace. Amen.

P.S- Or maybe you should just let it be and let time take its course:) What say you?

P.P.S- I didnt know what picture would go here so…

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

