Posted in Moanday Mornings

Just Above Average

Its a drab monday morning. I get cranky and moan every monday morning. However, this morning I have a thought for me you. Every day you try to do something with your life. And mind you, this isnt something you do knowingly, it just happens. You try because you think you will become great if you could just do that one thing that gets you noticed. It might be a presentation that you made in office. Or that idea you thought was brilliant. Or whatever it was. And then you look around. And no one is applauding. Wtf. Wasn’t this supposed to be your moment? So you either shrug your shoulders and try better tomorrow or you convince people that it was a good thing in the first place. You go around thinking you ARE brilliant. Then you start doing the same thing again and again. Until people realize that wow – that is some cool shit. And the people who are opposed to you even though they might think differently will say, what the hell, let’s just say it is cool shit! And soon you’re known for it. Soon, people start recognizing you for it. Soon people start believing in it. And it is awesome. Because soon enough other people start doing the same thing. And it spreads. The same thing goes on and on until a new generation breaks it with something different. Not great, but new. And then an entire era is remembered for that one thing. Even if that thing was simply an above average idea or mediocre.

Stop. No really, stop! Stop doing that.  Don’t let mediocrity rule. Do better or give credit to someone who does. You don’t always have to be the centre of attention. Your work might not always be the Best, even if you’re the Boss.

Excel. Or at least try to in every single sphere of you life. Mendacity seeps through our bones. Don’t let it rule your life.

Be better today. Otherwise we’ll just be a generation of average, ordinary and unremarkable people patting each other on the back.

And that sucks!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

