Posted in m@dness

When nature calls

Disclaimer: I am going to write about loo and toilet and all that. So if you no like reading about it then tata. See you tomorrow. and to the darlings like me who like bathrooms, read on:)

Why do people smirk when someone says they are going to answer natures call?  Why is it that the toilet/loo is considered the most inconsequential place or ridiculed the most? So this post was one idea that came up a couple of days ago when I had a lot of thing running in my head which i wanted to put down but  nothing was really coming out. And then i thought bout how thoughts flow nice n easy in some places, when they jst become a clogged mixture of messed up trash, in others.

Archimedes hit upon his most insightful insight wen he was lying, stark naked in his lovely bathtub. he was so overjoyed by this discovery that he had no time to remember more mundane things like putting on some clothes  n stuff, as he ran through the beautiful streets of ancient Greece(or was it Rome??), shouting “Eureka!Eureka!“all the while being happily naked! Citizens of Greece (Rome?) must have thought that whatever Sir Archimedes eurekaed, it most definitely was not his clothes.  But have you, like me ever wondered it were possible, that there actually could be a reason for him hitting on the mighty insight wen he was exactly where he was…ie. the bathroom?

So once you are done laughing at the idea, take a minute to think, where you hit on your brightest ideas? Yeah I have no qualms in saying that my brightest ideas, popular posts and most philosophical thoughts and solutions have been in the wonderland called loo/toilet/bathroom:) Hehe I’m pretty sure now that smirk on your face is fading slowly.

And so i asked this question to the besties and a couple of them gave me nasty stares and then after a while said things like, ‘no place in particular’ n ‘i dont think at all’. The cousin said it was his house down in kerala during the rains. Eh?! But most responses were, ‘in the shower’, ‘the bathroom’ or ‘on top of u-can-guess-what’ (Uff POTTY man!). I, for one, can admit without any doubt that most of my AHA experiences (refer to ‘Understanding Psychology’, edition 4, chapter 8, page 268), either wen i was in the shower or wen i’m attending one of nature’s early morning calls. Hihhi. Dirty perverts, stop imagining that and stick to the post!

Soooo is it all a mere coincidence that all our flash bulb moments happen in the hidden walls of the bathroom or did God actually give us that place to explore n exercise much more that our bowels n our vocal chords(for singing i mean)? maybe the reason lies in the fact that the loo is the only place, in the whole grand world, where u go completely n truly alone.I mean u sure do not want someone staring at u while u go about the merry business of emptying ur system. Well there maybe people who wouldn’t mind company, but that’s a COMPLETELY different story. Above all its also the only time wen u’re stripped bare of all your masks that come with the business of living, the only time wen u dont have to act all proper proper n dignified n grown-uppish. the only time u can be just YOU.n no one’s gonna hold it against u. or judge u. So, what u get it is TOTAL n uninterrupted privacy, so that your thoughts can flow daintily as a river. unless you’ve an irritating sibling or a roomie whose digestive clock works in perfect tandom with yours, in which case you’ve loud bangs on the door accompanied by rude n unflattering threats. .

So is it a big wonder,that u can reason clearly, understand things that u never considered before, wen u are stripped bare (quite literally!) of the layers of pretensions of everyday life?maybe the warmth of a shower, that cleanses u off the dirt n muck, clears your mind too off the clutter, n takes with it all the stress n fatigue down the drain, leaving your grey cells refreshed.

so next time it feels all confused n muddled up in your upper storrey , just go take that shower! Dude/Dudette, Nature’s calling!where re u???

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

