Posted in Moanday Mornings

On my mind

On my mind these days……..

I’m broke but I’m happy
I’m poor but I’m kind
I’m short but I’m healthy, yeah
I’m high but I’m grounded
I’m sane but I’m overwhelmed
I’m lost but I’m hopeful baby 

I wont have much of a salary to talk about this month.. Thanks to me deciding to leave for greener pastures and now being stuck in notice period. Not that I’ll die of starvation, but it’s not quite the same thing you know. There’s something about a certain amount of money making its way to the bank, that makes you feel comfortable, even if you don’t use all of it. When did the days of managing 10 days with 20 bucks end? Why did I get so used to this sickening, addictive thing called salary?

I feel drunk but I’m sober
I’m young and I’m underpaid
I’m tired but I’m working, yeah
I care but I’m worthless
I’m here but I’m really gone
I’m wrong and I’m sorry baby 

I didn’t think I was underpaid until the day I realised I was doing something that makes little or no difference to anyone’s lives. I mean my boss acts like he doesnt care a damn if everyone leaves the company! He loves micromanagement and I hate it!I feel like I was hired to be an admin and not an HR professional.

I’m free but I’m focused
I’m green but I’m wise
I’m shy but I’m friendly baby
I’m sad but I’m laughing
I’m brave but I’m chicken shit
I’m sick but I’m pretty baby



I need to desperately get out of here. And yet there are so many hurdles to cross and so many hyperactive, super fragile egos to massage before the 4 week deadline. I love change. And yet I hate it. The anxiety is sort of killing me. But I don’t think it will last. This must be the time when people tell you that “night is the darkest just before dawn” Because…

What it all comes down to
Is that everything’s gonna be fine fine fine
I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving a high five

Eternally optimistic these days!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

