Posted in m@dness

13 point something

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

Things are moving pretty quick and its almost June. I don’t seem to get time to update anything or anyone. So, I decided to  take a pause and update on the happenings of the past few weeks.Thanks to a trillion changes,the renovation at home and all that, I have an average of two hours per day to do something on my own accord. And those two hours are spent in reading one page of a book, taking a bath, going to the loo, among other things. I owe this post to my blog (and the receding number of hits on the blog, I shamelessly admit :P), so here goes. My 13  point update

1. The house is being renovated to accomadate a room for me. Yes, now the brother n family has one room and I no longer have to be the refugee when they arrive for a few days. Das has his room to himself and he doesnt have to share it with me when summer comes( He has an AC in his room and I didnt. Now I will too). The kitchen is being done the way I always wanted it or atleast some parts of it. The lounge area is bigger and better and the whole house seems to be getting cooler than before!!

2. There are also days when I do get some extra time and that I make sure is well spent with the gals. Some random conversations with a few awesome women- happy, strong, spirited women who are different as chalk and cheese, and yet very similar….

3. Looking forward to that no strings attached trip to bengaluru. By no strings I mean, a trip with no work to think about, no deadline, no date that I have to get back to etc. The trip where I am allowed to shop , where everyone will be nice to me and stuff :). The only hitch being, the brother hasn’t yet told me where he has shifted to. I dont know their new address. 😛

4.  The other M got married. She is enjoying her new role and has fitted in quite smoothly. One of the D’s is expecting. I also have another Momma in the making amongst my gals. Sin is carrying her 2nd for 4 months now. Ms A is busy job hunting in Dubai and thats making her get into one of those grouchy moods.

5. The fact that in 12 working days, Ill be free from everything related to work keeps me going these days

6. Everyone seems to be telling me things these days. Thing related to making a house, duties of a wife/daughter in law/mother in the making(whenever it happens) / sister in law etc. They all seem to say the same thing in different ways. Control anger and be patient. Thats it. period.

7. Since I am serving notice period, I am pretty much free these days. So I am looking out for my replacements and also looking out for jobs for the man. I havent done job searching for anybody else for awhile now so it is a little difficult. I feel I dont have the urge and passion to do things like before. Haaa lets see. Time heals, hopefully.

8. I realised that ever since I moved back to Cochin, I have hated more people than I have liked. I haven’t always been like this. My intense dislike for a lot of people stemmed as much from their stupidity/ pretentse/ laziness as my own lack of work. Of late I haven’t had time to notice anyone’s shortcomings but my own and I want to keep it this way. It keeps me grounded, it keeps me happy.

9. The manic, man killing bus drivers(Red Killers) of Cochin. They are quite crazy, especially when you travel a 90 minute distance twice everyday. They want to fight every 5 minutes, and they actually provoke you to scream at them so that you are rude to them and they get an opportunity to scream back! How I wish I could get over my irrational fear of driving! I am being more than civil to all the bus drivers and auto drivers – they are so rude I am scared of them. The only time I get rude is when they fight for more money in spite of what is the fixed rate. I just quietly utter the words “police station” in my super polite argument. I am scared one day I will leave work and never reach home again. I get rid of some of the commuting stress by having a full fledged music fest for myself from the minute I step in. Thank God for portable music devicesand nice people who give well timed gifts, I have been a lot less scared of dying while commuting 😛 and I have discovered my love for music all over again. Like the good old days!

10. Ro and I no longer spend as much time talking as we used to.  The time difference, the lack of time, the job hunt and the tiredness of a day at work and stuff make it difficult for us to spend time with each other. And strangely, I miss him all the time! I hope it gets better when I quit and sit at home. Hopefully I can arrange my day according to his time n work.Why does life ALWAYS have trade offs?

11. The new family is great. Supportive and definitely the give-you-space kind. Thank god!

12. I still read. Even if it is a page a day. Ro says I cannot take my books to Dubai. The man doesnt realize that I will buy books from there and start another library there! I still sing. Even if it is only in the bathroom and the bus. I still spend time blogging. Even if it as the cost of my company. I still play and walk in the rain. Even if i know I will catch  a cold the next day. I still gym. Even if it is a torture to drag myself there everyday! Thank god that I have time atleast for all this.

13. I also have a lot of things in the head now. His job. Mine. A flat in dubai/sharjah that we have to put a finger on. Relocating to a totally new land!Leaving family n friends behind. Starting from scratch, again.  The weddings and births I’ll miss. The places that I’ll see. Or not see. New experiences and so much more.

So thats it. Thats my life in a nutshell. Shall keep you posted.

Till next time, take a pause, look around, get a hold of whats happening, smile and give time, time.

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

2 thoughts on “13 point something

Leave a Reply

