Posted in RoMa Chronicles

Love is all around me

Never judge a post by its title 😉 I am not going to write about the famous Wet wet wet song or my nostalgia associated with it. However, these days this song keeps playing in my head..like a constant background music of sorts.  SO, back to my post…We, Ro n I celebrated 50 days of being married and one month of me arriving here in a nice and soft way. He made dinner(chicken Ro style) and we binged on Ice cream and cake. As I lay awake that night, my thoughts went back to the beginning. In life, there are some moments that stay frozen inside our minds. I dont have many but the ones I have will just not go away. The first time I laid my eyes on ro or my first sight of him is one such moment my brain seems to have frozen. He says I shouldnt write about it coz it’ll embarass him. 🙂 why would I let an opportunity pass!

While our parents seem to think that we first met at my place, we stay corrected. If the first date and first impression is supposed to decide things, we’d never get married! We decided to meet at my favourite coffee place(thats a post for another day), Cocoa tree. He said he’ll be there at 11 am and I had to sit inside, waiting inside the cafe which was still not open for the day( the perks of being a regular). So while I waited anxiously for 11:00 am, I order a usual Irish Chocolate drink. He calls to say he’ll be a few minutes late. Ahem…First date…n late. The friends said, dont wait, get up n leave. He is just not worth it. I decided to wait anyway since he said few minutes. And then…he arrived. At 11:45 am on 8th February 2013, I laid my eyes on him for the first time and somehow I knew it wasnt the last I’ll see of him. His hand, is what I saw first and then his ass and then his face. Yes, in that order. No, when I saw his hand I didnt know it was his. It was only when I saw his face that I realised it was him! Rest as they say is history…

To be honest, I was scared of a lot of things then. Funny as it may sound now, I had almost decided not to say yes to anybody. I was scared. Of a lot of things. Opening up to a new person, an unknown person. Committing to someone when I didnt know how committed he was or would be. Fear of being ripped apart, again. Loving again, apprehension and what not. But then, the moment I saw him first, it was amazing the way my heart felt light. Like a sign that this was it, this was the heart I was meant to be in. As cheesy as it may sound, it was true. When I think back now, I know it was the best decision ever.

A marriage is magical. It’s poetic, the rhythm of each day as it settles into a routine, the crackle as we figure out the differences. It’s  full of promise, excitement, surprises. It’s where dreams just might come true. There don’t really have to be harps playing, or birds singing, or rose petals falling from the sky everyday. And there are definitely days when the romance is dead, when there are arguments and when the differences become a bit annoying… but if you look around, things are pretty amazing…its lovely, its magical..its marriage.

 
The day we met
Frozen, I held my breath
Right from the start
I
 knew that I found a home for my heart

Heart beats fast
Colors and promises
How to be brave?
How can I love when I’m afraid to fall
But watching you stand alone?
All of my doubt suddenly goes away somehow
One step closer
I have died everyday waiting for you
Darling don’t be afraid I have loved you
For a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more
 
                                             – Christina Perri- A Thousand Years
 

Oh and when I asked him what his first memory of me was, he stared at me, blank. So typical!

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

