Posted in fiction

Imagined Conversations

‘Happy Birthday’, I wished, hoping I was doing the right thing.

Even if I wasn’t, I wasn’t corrected. Relaxing in the assumed right air, I waited wondering what to type on the hovering window of the messenger.

I didn’t want to make wishes that I knew would remain wishes. Not this time. Not ever again.

Choosing words carefully, I made an almost reverential wish. One about dreams, hopes, fears and finding love.

‘Thank you’, blinked on my screen.

‘What gift would you want?’. I typed ritualistically.

‘Get ready. Dinner and a drive. ‘

I took out the pen from my mouth. I had to purse up my lips and that isn’t best done with the lean finger of the pen held horizontally between clenched teeth.

‘Ok. I’ll wear the kurta and churi from the shop we liked.’ Favorite, I think. Girls in western wear was never a favorite.

‘Great. See you in an hour.’

I hear the vanishing sound when a person leaves.

Opening my cupboard, I looked for the black and blue kurta I had in mind. Inside it was placed a blue shawl. Taking it out carefully, I put it away for another day.

I do not know how many kilometers it is from here to there, but I do know that it cannot be covered in an hour.

I hope you had a good dinner. I hope she wore an elegant dress of your choice.

Happy birthday again.

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

