Posted in m@dness

Everyday Super Heroes

I have personally never been a fan of superheroes. I have always thought that like Santa Clause, they are just fictitious characters to fool kids. Until very recently. There are days that I walk to work. Its perspiring but it’s the time I get for myself. I think while I walk, I listen to music or just take in the sights and sounds. I have seen a lot of aged people work their ass off just to earn enough to feed their tummy. The task they do is so difficult that sometimes it looks impossible. But they do it and smile. Victoriously. 2011 and 2015 were the years that tested my limits as a mere human. These years taught me life. There were days I couldn’t just get up from bed just dreading that I was alive. But I had to keep moving. That’s when I chanced upon the Superhero Stance.

The physical pose in which the superhero stands with legs spread apart, arms on hips, elbows bent. The superhero stance projects power. It’s an example of what psychologists refer to as an open posture, in which limbs are spread out in a way to take up more space. If you can retain the superhero-type stance for a grand total of two minutes, you will feel more powerful and act that way: Stand like a superhero, feel like a superhero, act like superhero. This phenomenon has been proved and I can assure you it works. I have assumed this stance quite a number of times in the last few years; my productivity has increased measurably and my mental state has had a 180⁰ turn from depressing to in control.  I know it will make you look stupid, but I assure you it is life changing! It changed mine, so am pretty sure it will change yours too.

Winning and Losing is  all a part of the circle of life. Everyday, we loose battles as often as we succeed. The key though, win or loose, is to never fail. The only way to fail is not fight. So you fight until you can’t fight anymore. Hold up your head and enter the arena and face the enemy. Fight until you can’t fight anymore. Never let go. Never give up. Never run. Never surrender. Fight the good fight. You fight even when it seems inevitable that you’re about to go down swinging.

Why? You ask. Why do we even try when the barriers are so high and the odds are so low? Why don’t we just pack it in and go home? It’d be so, so much easier.

It’s because in the end, there’s no glory in easy. No one remembers easy. They remember the blood and the bones and the long agonizing fight to the top. And that is how you become legendary. An everyday Super Hero.

18767053-Super-hero-female-standing-heroicly-File-is-layered-for-easy-editing--Stock-Vector.jpg

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

