Posted in m@dness

Arrogant Display of Insensitivity

I cannot change the world and its ways. I have accepted that. But I sure can speak my mind and hope that someone who reads this post will change the way they think and act. So. I lost my mother at a young age. Very very young age. To this day, I remember one of my family members screaming and wailing in front of the body as to how she would have been alive if she hadn’t given birth to me! Yes I remember the person, the wails and it all. It haunts me everytime I see or hear about young children who lose one or both their parents while they are young. So imagine my frustration when I hear and see that a person I used to know died giving birth. I had to fight back the tears and nostalgia. I still am.

Our society in particular are very cruel to the survivors. By survivors I mean the family who is left behind by a dead person. Not only do they not give support, they tend to pick and dig into the matter in a sort of schadenfreude pleasure. To overcome the grief takes time, years, sometimes forever. Nobody understands the effect such events have on children. I don’t need to imagine that because I know.

We, the human race is supposed to be a very advance species. However I am beginning to think that the more advance we get, the less emotional and empathetic we are becoming. Selfies are the best example I can think of. An occasional selfie when you are wearing a brand new, great looking outfit is fine. Hanging out with friends, post a selfie. had a fan moment, be my guest. Date night with the love of your life, go on, take a selfie by all means. However, lately I have been  noticing the line disappearing. The line that clearly defines when the selfie must stop. On Fb, the other day, a friend posted a picture of his grandmother’s funeral. A selfie of him and the grandmother’s body in a coffin. Just when I thought I had seen it all, this morning another friend posted a picture of a newborn with her dead mother! For me, personally, I lost it. The real me wanted to scream at the friend and shake her and bring her to her senses but the socially responsible-well behaved lady in me just asked her politely as to why she would post a heartbreaking picture on a social platform. That’s that.

Why would or why have people turned to be so insensitive? This definitely psychopathic behavior leads me to believe that maybe the experts are right after all.Selfies tend to attract a type of person already more likely to push the boundaries of normal behavior,the so-called Dark Triad of personality traits – narcissism, Machiavellianism and psychopathy – are likely to pursue selfie glory regardless of who or what gets hurt in the process. While in the earlier days,photography was just to keep  old memories alive,today photography has grown far more than that. In the last 190 years, which is when the first photo was take , photography has grown to a  level where most people use it to prove something!

It all comes down to one main thing: self-indulgence. One becomes self-centred once they get habituated to taking pictures of just about everything, that they start ignoring the conditions around them, and even the feelings of the people in the vicinity.There is nothing wrong with taking pictures of yourself or of things, but lets not forget that it doesn’t have to be a part of our daily routine. It is more important to live in the moment than to worry about your looks and lighting. A confident person doesn’t rely on the popularity of a picture but rather the popularity of their personality. It is not only insensitive, but also kind of stupid to take pictures while people around you are in trouble or are grieving. You would be looked upon as a selfish person despite your good intentions. So next time you pick up your phone or camera for to take a picture, look around to make sure you are not offending anyone.fb_img_1433099907089-724420

Author:

There is a deep and cosmological connection between my birth, my parent's decision to name me what they did, my profession and my education. This brings me to the conclusion that fate is predetermined and like in Hindu mythology, is written by Brahma when someone is born. Example: My name is unique. I did my grads in Psychology. I then did my masters in HR (offshoot of following all the psychos). I then did the ultimate decision of joining an MNC in ............. beat it, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT. So, I have the concept 'MAD' in my name, my education, my choice of career and all the milestone decisions of my life. Now, is it predetermined or what ? :-D

Leave a Reply

